

Lori A. Weaver Commissioner

Karen E. Hebert Director

STATE OF NEW HAMPSHIRE DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

DIVISION OF ECONOMIC STABILITY BUREAU OF CHILD SUPPORT SERVICES

129 PLEASANT STREET, CONCORD, NH 03301 603-271-4745 1-800-852-3345 Ext. 4725 FAX: 603-271-4787 TDD Access: 1-800-735-2964 Automated Voice Response 1-800-371-8844 www.dhhs.nh.gov

INFORMATION ABOUT THE ANNUAL FEE FOR SUPPORT ENFORCEMENT SERVICES

Federal and state law require the New Hampshire Bureau of Child Support Services (BCSS) collect a \$35.00 annual fee on all Child Support cases enforced by BCSS that meet the following conditions:

- 1. The Obligee has <u>never</u> received Temporary Assistance to Needy Families (TANF), Tribal TANF, or Aid to Families with Dependent Children (AFDC), from the State of New Hampshire, or any other state, on behalf of minor children; and
- 2. More than \$550.00 has been paid to the Obligee during the current Federal Fiscal Year. *The Federal Fiscal Year starts October 1 and runs through September 30.*

Who pays the fee?

Under New Hampshire state law, BCSS will collect the fee from the Obligee by keeping \$35.00 of the support collected after BCSS disburses the first \$550.00 of collections each Federal Fiscal Year (FFY). Once the fee is collected (each FFY), BCSS will send the Obligee all remaining support collected for the remainder of the FFY. Please DO NOT send the payment to BCSS, it will be deducted from your collections, but only after the \$550.00 threshold has been met.

The parent paying child support will receive full credit against the support obligation for the payment BCSS retains and applies to the fee.

If I have more than one case, is a fee due on each case?

Yes. If the Obligee receives child support from more than one Obligor, the \$35.00 fee will be collected for each case that meets the criteria listed in numbers 1 and 2 above.

What if I do not receive \$550.00 in a FFY?

BCSS will not charge a fee in any year that the case does not receive at least \$550.00 in disbursements to the Obligee. If a collection is more than \$550.00, but less than \$585.00 in a FFY, BCSS will only collect the amount above \$550.00. EXAMPLE: Total collection in FFY 2019 is \$560.00. BCSS will only retain \$10.00 in FFY 2019. In FFY 2020, the total collection is \$5,000.00. BCSS will only retain \$35.00 in FFY 2020.

Your Responsibilities:

If you can provide documentation that you received TANF, Tribal TANF, or AFDC for minor children from another state, BCSS may be able to exempt you from paying the fee or refund the fee if it has already been collected. If you do not provide proof you received TANF, Tribal TANF, or AFDC, BCSS may charge the fee until such proof is provided.

You may conveniently contact a representative of BCSS through email at: bcssciu@dhhs.nh.gov

You may also contact BCSS by writing to the BCSS Central Information Unit at 129 Pleasant St, Concord, NH, 03301-3857, or send a fax to (603) 271-4787. The BCSS Central Information Unit can also be reached toll free in NH at 1-800-852-3345, extension 4427, or (603) 271-4427. Please be aware this number receives a high volume of calls. Voice messages cannot be left at these numbers.

The BCSS website contains much information about our services, and you may find immediate answers to your questions there. Forms and an on-line calculator for modifying your child support order are also available on the website. Please visit www.dhhs.nh.gov/childsupport