
Minor Patient Application 
Version 10/23

Application Instructions 
Page 1 of 2 

Lori A. Weaver 
Commissioner 

Patricia M. Tilley 
Director 

STATE OF NEW HAMPSHIRE 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES 

DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH SERVICES 

THERAPEUTIC CANNABIS PROGRAM 
29 HAZEN DRIVE, CONCORD, NH 03301-3857 

603-271-9333  1-800-852-3345 Ext. 9333 
TDD Access: 1-800-735-2964 

email: TCP@dhhs.nh.gov 

MINOR PATIENT APPLICATION 
For the Therapeutic Use of Cannabis 

APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS 
Information about the Therapeutic Cannabis Program, including the law (RSA 126-X), the rules (He-C 400), and all 

required forms, is available on the Program’s website at: https://www.dhhs.nh.gov/tcp
General Requirements for Minor Patients (under age 18) 
• The Minor Patient Application must be completed by the minor’s custodial parent or legal guardian.
• The custodial parent or legal guardian must apply for and be approved as the minor’s Designated Caregiver.
• This is a combined application for both the patient and the caregiver.
• A minor may have two Designated Caregivers, both of whom must be the patient’s custodial parent or legal guardian.

Application Instructions

1. Read the “General Program Information” at the end of this application packet.
2. Complete ALL information on pages 1-3. Complete pages 4-5 if you want to provide voluntary demographic information.
3. Submit with this Application Form:

a. Two “Written Certification for the Therapeutic Use of Cannabis” forms completed by two medical providers, one of
whom must be a pediatrician.

b. Proof of New Hampshire residency.*  Submit ONE of the following:
• A copy of your New Hampshire driver’s license or New Hampshire State ID (front only); OR
• Any other documentation that contains your name and current NH address, such as a current lease agreement

or vehicle registration, or a utility bill, medical bill, property tax bill, mortgage statement, bank statement,
government check, or payroll check with a date showing that it was issued within the previous 6 months; OR

• Other state or federal government-issued identification that shows your name and NH address.
*Proof of residency is not required for renewal applications if there has not been a change of address.

c. A $50 application fee:
• A check or money order made payable to “Treasurer, State of New Hampshire” in the amount of $50.
• The Program cannot accept cash, credit cards, or installment payments.

d. Proof of guardianship, if the legal guardian is not a custodial parent.
• If a minor patient applicant’s legal guardian is not a custodial parent, the legal guardian must submit proof of

legal guardianship with the application. Submit a copy of the entire order that shows the powers granted to the
guardian, which must include powers related to healthcare decisions.

4. Mail or hand-deliver the following:
Required Documents: To This Address: 

A completed Minor Patient Application 
Two completed Written Certifications 
   (from two providers, one of whom must be a Pediatrician)  
Proof of NH residency (see 3b above) 
Application fee (see 3c above) 
Proof of guardianship (if not the custodial parent) (see 3d above)   

NH Department of Health and Human Services 
Therapeutic Cannabis Program 
29 Hazen Drive 
Concord, NH 03301 

mailto:TCP@dhhs.nh.gov
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/NHTOC/NHTOC-X-126-X.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rules/state_agencies/he-c400.html
https://www.dhhs.nh.gov/tcp
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APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS (continued) 

5. Application processing:
a. Application processing takes up to 3 weeks.

• The Program will approve or deny a complete application within 15 days of receipt.
• The Program will issue a Registry ID Card within 5 days of approval.

b. Incomplete applications:
• You will be notified in writing within 10 days of receipt if an application is incomplete.
• You will be asked to submit the missing information/documentation within 30 days from the date of the notice.
• If you don’t provide the missing information/documentation within 6 months of the notice, your application will be

closed. You will need to reapply by resubmitting ALL required application materials, including the fee.
• The processing times listed in 5a above will begin when the application is complete.

Notice Explaining Federal Law on the Possession of Cannabis (RSA 126-X:4, VI)

RSA 126-X, Use of Cannabis for Therapeutic Purposes creates an exemption in state law from criminal penalties for the therapeutic 
use of cannabis provided that its use is in compliance with RSA 126-X. State law does not exempt a person from federal criminal 
penalties for the possession of cannabis. 

Federal administrations have expressed intention not to pursue or target patients and their caregivers who possess or use small 
amounts of cannabis for therapeutic use who are part of and compliant with a well-regulated state therapeutic cannabis program. 
However, federal law does not allow for the medical or therapeutic use of cannabis, and the federal government can enforce federal 
cannabis laws anywhere in the United States, including in states that allow the therapeutic use of cannabis. Federal criminal penalties 
for the possession of cannabis, in any amount, range from misdemeanors to felonies, and may include incarceration and fines. 

To decrease the risk of any federal law enforcement action, patients and caregivers should know and abide by New Hampshire law 
with regard to the possession and use of therapeutic cannabis at all times. 

OTHER FEDERAL IMPLICATIONS 
Qualifying patients who use cannabis may be denied rights and privileges by federal agencies including, but not limited to, those 
related to employment such as driving a commercial vehicle, those related to owning, possessing, or purchasing a firearm and 
ammunition, those related to federally subsidized housing, those related to immigration and naturalization, or the inability to pass a 
security clearance. (See below for more information on the federal firearms restriction.) 

FEDERAL FIREARMS NOTICE 
The U.S. Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF) has directed federal firearms licensees, in an open letter issued 
in 2011, not to transfer firearms or ammunition to users of a controlled substance, including marijuana, regardless of whether their state 
has passed legislation authorizing marijuana use for medicinal purposes. According to the federal directive, any user of marijuana “is 
an unlawful user of or addicted to a controlled substance, and is prohibited by Federal law from possessing firearms or ammunition.” 

If a federal firearms licensee is aware that a person is in possession of a card authorizing the possession and use of marijuana under 
state law, that licensee has “reasonable cause to believe” that the person is an unlawful user of a controlled substance, and may not 
transfer firearms or ammunition to that person, even if the person answered “no” to question 21.g on “ATF Form 4473.” Note that this 
form was revised effective December 2022 and includes specific reference to state marijuana laws. 

References 
• ATF open letter: https://www.atf.gov/file/60211/download
• ATF Form 4473: https://www.atf.gov/file/61446/download
• HUD memos: https://www.hud.gov/sites/documents/MED-MARIJUANA.PDF

https://www.hud.gov/sites/documents/USEOFMARIJINMFASSISTPROPTY.PDF 

Notice Explaining Federal Law on the Possession of Cannabis (RSA 126-X:4, VI)
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MINOR PATIENT APPLICATION 
FOR THE THERAPEUTIC USE OF CANNABIS 

Instructions: This application is to be completed by the minor patient’s custodial parent or legal guardian. 

 Initial Application 
 Renewal Application 
(or expired/lapsed) 

Note to Applicant: These items are required to be submitted with this Application: 
1. Two completed Written Certifications (from the patient’s medical providers)
2. A $50 application fee (check/money order, payable to “Treasurer – State of NH”)
3. Proof of NH residency* (copy of NH license/State ID, current lease, recent utility bill, etc.)

*This is NOT required for renewals if you are at the same address
Send to: NH DHHS, Therapeutic Cannabis Program, 29 Hazen Dr, Concord, NH 03301 

MINOR PATIENT INFORMATION 
Name First Last Middle Initial

Date of 
Birth 

MM/DD/YYYY 
Gender: 

 Female     Male     Non-binary/Other gender     Choose not to disclose 

 Choose to self-describe: __________________________________________ 

Mailing 
Address 

Street/P.O. Box/Apt # 

City State Zip Code 

Physical 
Address 

(If different than mailing address) (If experiencing homelessness, this is not required) 

DESIGNATED CAREGIVER INFORMATION 
Name First Last Middle Initial 

Date of 
Birth 

MM/DD/YYYY 
Gender: 

 Female     Male     Non-binary/Other gender     Choose not to disclose 

 Choose to self-describe: __________________________________________ 

Phone 
Number 
Mailing 
Address
(if different than 
the patient) 

Street/P.O. Box/Apt # 

City State Zip Code 

Physical 
Address 

(If different than the patient) 

SECOND DESIGNATED CAREGIVER INFORMATION – OPTIONAL 
Name First Last Middle Initial 

Date of 
Birth 

MM/DD/YYYY 
Gender: 

 Female     Male     Non-binary/Other gender     Choose not to disclose 

 Choose to self-describe: __________________________________________ 
Phone 
Number 
Mailing 
Address
(if different than 
the patient) 

Street/P.O. Box/Apt # 

City State Zip Code 

Physical 
Address 

(If different than the patient) 
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MEDICAL PROVIDER INFORMATION 
Provide information about the two medical providers who completed the Written Certifications. 

One of the providers must be a pediatrician. 
Name First Last 

Business 
Address 

Street/Suite # 

City State Zip Code 

Phone 
Number 

SECOND MEDICAL PROVIDER INFORMATION 
Name First Last 

Business 
Address 

Street/Suite # 

City State Zip Code 

Phone 
Number 

MEDICAL INFORMATION RELEASE 

I, hereby, authorize the release of relevant medical information by the providers listed above to the NH DHHS if 
additional information about the qualifying medical condition or Written Certification is required. 

Parent/Guardian 
Signature 

 
Date 

DESIGNATED CAREGIVER REQUIREMENTS FOR A MINOR PATIENT 

The Designated Caregiver(s) must attest to the following, by signing on the following page. 

I am the applicant’s custodial parent or legal guardian responsible for the health care decisions of the applicant. 

The applicant’s certifying providers have explained to me the potential risks and benefits of the therapeutic use of 
cannabis. 

I consent to allow the applicant’s therapeutic use of cannabis. 

I consent to serve as the applicant’s Designated Caregiver and to control the acquisition of cannabis and the 
frequency of the therapeutic use of cannabis by the applicant. 

I understand that if I am not approved to be a Designated Caregiver, then the applicant’s application to be a 
Qualifying Patient will not be approved. 

(If applicable) I share legal custody of the applicant, and I have notified the other parent or guardian with legal 
custody of the applicant in advance of submitting this application by having provided to the other parent or guardian 
a copy of the completed Application form and the completed Written Certification forms. 
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THERAPEUTIC CANNABIS PROGRAM ACKNOWLEDGMENTS 
I understand that Registry ID Cards are valid for one year, unless a shorter or longer duration is indicated by the patient's medical 
provider. Cards must be renewed or extended prior to their expiration in order to prevent a lapse in registration. 
I understand that if I am notified of a denial or revocation I have 30 days from the date of the notice to appeal the decision, and that if an 
appeal request is not made within that timeframe then I will have waived my right to an appeal and the action of the Department shall 
become final. 
I understand that I may not possess, between myself and my Qualifying Patient, more than 2 ounces of cannabis per 
Qualifying Patient, or obtain more than 2 ounces of cannabis in any 10-day period from any source per Qualifying Patient.
I understand that as a Designated Caregiver I am not permitted to use cannabis, unless I am also a Qualifying Patient, and may be 
subject to criminal penalties if I do so. 

I understand that my Qualifying Patient may only use cannabis for the purpose of treating or alleviating their qualifying medical condition. 

I understand that as a Designated Caregiver I am not permitted to possess any cannabis for purposes other than its therapeutic use as 
permitted by RSA 126-X. 
I understand that my Qualifying Patient may not be under the influence of cannabis: (1) while operating a motor vehicle, 
commercial vehicle, boat, vessel, or any other vehicle propelled or drawn by power other than muscular power; (2) in their place of 
employment, without the written permission of the employer; or (3) while operating heavy machinery or handling a dangerous 
instrumentality. 
I understand that my Qualifying Patient may not smoke or vaporize cannabis in any public place, including a public bus or other 
public vehicle, or any public park, public beach, or public field. 
I understand that my Qualifying Patient and I may not be in possession of cannabis in any of the following locations: (1) the building 
and grounds of any preschool, elementary, or secondary school, which are located in an area designated as a drug free zone; (2) a 
place of employment, without the written permission of the employer; (3) any correctional facility; (4) any public recreation center or youth 
center; or (5) any law enforcement facility. 
I understand that my Qualifying Patient may use cannabis on privately-owned real property only with written permission of the property 
owner or, in the case of leased property, with the permission of the tenant in possession of the property. 
I understand that in the event of my Qualifying Patient’s death, I will, within 5 days of the death: (1) notify the Department of the death; and 
(2) either request that the local law enforcement agency remove any remaining cannabis or dispose of the remaining cannabis in a manner 
that is specified in RSA 126-X:2, XIV.
I understand that if my Qualifying Patient or I am found to be in possession of cannabis outside of our home and we are not in 
possession of a Registry ID Card, we may be subject to a fine of up to $100. 
I understand that any person(s) who makes a fraudulent representation to a law enforcement official of any fact or circumstance relating 
to the therapeutic use of cannabis to avoid arrest or prosecution shall be guilty of a violation and may be fined $500, which shall be 
in addition to any other penalties that may apply for making a false statement to a law enforcement official or for the use of cannabis 
other than use undertaken pursuant to this RSA 126-X. 
I understand that the protections granted by RSA 126-X for the therapeutic use of cannabis apply only within NH. 
I understand that my Qualifying Patient and I must be in compliance with RSA 126-X and with the administrative rules adopted thereunder, 
and that the Department may revoke a Registry ID Card for any violation of any provision of RSA 126-X or the rules adopted thereunder. 
I understand that I, by possessing cannabis, and my Qualifying Patient, by using cannabis, may be denied rights and privileges by 
federal agencies including, but not limited to, those related to employment such as driving a commercial vehicle, those related to 
owning, possessing, or purchasing a firearm and ammunition, those related to federally subsidized housing, those related to 
immigration and naturalization, or the inability to pass a security clearance. 

CERTIFICATION AND NON-DIVERSION PLEDGE 
I, hereby, attest to the Designated Caregiver Requirements for a Minor Patient listed on Page 2 and the Acknowledgments listed above. 
I, hereby, attest that I have not been convicted of a felony offense in this or any other state, and I agree to notify the Department if I am 
convicted of a felony offense subsequent to being issued a Registry ID Card.
I, hereby, certify that the minor patient is a resident of New Hampshire and the facts as stated in this Application are accurate to the best 
of my knowledge and belief. I understand that any false statements made on this Application are punishable as unsworn falsification 
under RSA 641:3. 
I, hereby, pledge not to divert cannabis to anyone who is not allowed to possess cannabis pursuant to RSA 126-X, acknowledge that 
diversion of cannabis shall result in revocation of my Registry ID Card, and acknowledge that the sale of cannabis to anyone who is not a 
qualifying patient or a designated caregiver is punishable as a class B felony with a sentence of a maximum term of imprisonment of not 
more than 7 years, and a fine of not more than $300,000, or both, in addition to other penalties for the illegal sale of cannabis. 

Date 

Date 

Parent/Guardian
Signature

Second Parent/Guardian
Signature (if applicable)
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VOLUNTARY DEMOGRAPHIC INFORMATION 
Your voluntary answers are requested. 

The information on this page will not be used for eligibility determination. Under the Health Insurance Portability 
and Accountability Act (HIPAA), personally identifiable information is protected information.  

PATIENT INFORMATION 
Race/Ethnicity 
Are you Hispanic, Latino/a, or Spanish origin? 

 No   
 Yes, specify (one or more categories may be selected): 

 Mexican, Mexican American, Chicano/a   Puerto Rican      Cuban    Another Hispanic, Latino/a, or Spanish origin 

What is your race? (One or more categories may be selected) 
 White  Chinese  Vietnamese  Samoan 
 Black or African American  Filipino  Other Asian   Other Pacific Islander 
 American Indian or Alaska Native  Japanese  Native Hawaiian 
 Asian Indian  Korean  Guamanian or Chamorro 

CAREGIVER INFORMATION 

Race/Ethnicity 
Are you Hispanic, Latino/a, or Spanish origin? 

 No   
 Yes, specify (one or more categories may be selected): 
 Mexican, Mexican American, Chicano/a    Puerto Rican 
 Another Hispanic, Latino/a, or Spanish origin  Cuban   

What is your race? (One or more categories may be selected) 
 White  Korean 
 Black or African American  Vietnamese 
 American Indian or Alaska Native  Other Asian 
 Asian Indian  Native Hawaiian 
 Chinese  Guamanian or Chamorro 
 Filipino  Samoan 
 Japanese  Other Pacific Islander 

Veteran Status 
Have you ever served on active duty in the US Armed Forces, either 
in the regular military or in a National Guard or military reserve unit? 

 No     Yes 

Employment 
Are you currently: (Check all that apply) 

 Employed full time (35 or more hours per week) 
 Employed part time (up to 35 hours per week) 
 Unemployed and currently looking for work 
 Unemployed and not currently looking for work 
 Student  Retired  Homemaker 
 Self-employed  Unable to work 

What is your annual household income? 
 Less than $25,000  $75,000 to $99,999 
 $25,000 to $49,999  $100,000 or more 
 $50,000 to $74,999 

Public Assistance 
In the past 12 months, have you been enrolled in a public 
assistance program? 

 No     
 Yes, specify: (Check all that apply) 
 Medicaid   
 Supplemental Security Income (SSI) 
 Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI) 
 Other, specify: ______________________ 

Education 
What is the highest level of education completed? 

 Some high school        Community college/2-yr degree 
 High school diploma / GED    University/4-year college   
 Technical school     Graduate program or more 

Are you currently enrolled in school? 
 No 
 Yes, specify: 
 High school          University / 4-year college 
 Technical school         Graduate program 
 Community college/2-yr degree 

Health Insurance 
What is the primary source of your health care coverage? 

 Employer-based plan (including through another person's 
employer) 

 A plan that you or a family member buys on your own 
 Medicare   
 Medicaid, including Healthy Families, Well Sense, or 
AmeriHealth Caritas   

 TRICARE, VA, or Military 
 Other source   
 None (no coverage) 

Marital Status 
What is your marital status? 

 Married        Separated 
 Divorced       Never married 
 Widowed  Member of an unmarried partnership 

Language Proficiency 
How well do you speak English? 

 Very well     Well   Not well   Not at all 

Do you speak another language other than English at home? 
 No   
 Yes, Spanish 
 Yes, not Spanish. Specify: _______________________ 
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VOLUNTARY DEMOGRAPHIC INFORMATION 

Your voluntary answers are requested. 
The information on this page will not be used for eligibility determination. Under the Health Insurance Portability 

and Accountability Act (HIPAA), personally identifiable information is protected information.  

SECOND CAREGIVER INFORMATION 

Race/Ethnicity 
Are you Hispanic, Latino/a, or Spanish origin? 

 No   
 Yes, specify (one or more categories may be selected): 
 Mexican, Mexican American, Chicano/a    Puerto Rican 
 Another Hispanic, Latino/a, or Spanish origin  Cuban   

What is your race? (One or more categories may be selected) 
 White  Korean 
 Black or African American  Vietnamese 
 American Indian or Alaska Native  Other Asian 
 Asian Indian  Native Hawaiian 
 Chinese  Guamanian or Chamorro 
 Filipino  Samoan 
 Japanese  Other Pacific Islander 

Veteran Status 
Have you ever served on active duty in the US Armed Forces, either 
in the regular military or in a National Guard or military reserve unit? 

 No     Yes 

Employment 
Are you currently: (Check all that apply) 

 Employed full time (35 or more hours per week) 
 Employed part time (up to 35 hours per week) 
 Unemployed and currently looking for work 
 Unemployed and not currently looking for work 
 Student   Retired    Homemaker 
 Self-employed  Unable to work 

What is your annual household income? 
 Less than $25,000  $75,000 to $99,999 
 $25,000 to $49,999  $100,000 or more 
 $50,000 to $74,999 

Public Assistance 
In the past 12 months, have you been enrolled in a public 
assistance program? 

 No     
 Yes, specify: (Check all that apply) 
 Medicaid   
 Supplemental Security Income (SSI) 
 Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI) 
 Other, specify: ______________________ 

Education 
What is the highest level of education completed? 

 Some high school        Community college/2-yr degree 
 High school diploma / GED    University/4-year college   
 Technical school     Graduate program or more 

Are you currently enrolled in school? 
 No 
 Yes, specify: 
 High school          University / 4-year college 
 Technical school         Graduate program 
 Community college/2-yr degree 

Health Insurance 
What is the primary source of your health care coverage? 

 Employer-based plan (including through another person's 
employer) 

 A plan that you or a family member buys on your own 
 Medicare   
 Medicaid, including Healthy Families, Well Sense, or 
AmeriHealth Caritas   

 TRICARE, VA, or Military  
 Other source   
 None (no coverage) 

Marital Status 
What is your marital status? 

 Married        Separated 
 Divorced       Never married 
 Widowed  Member of an unmarried partnership 

Language Proficiency 
How well do you speak English? 

 Very well     Well   Not well   Not at all 

Do you speak another language other than English at home? 
 No   
 Yes, Spanish 
 Yes, not Spanish. Specify:________________________ 
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THERAPEUTIC CANNABIS PROGRAM – GENERAL PROGRAM INFORMATION 
(Please keep for your records) 

Program Website: https://www.dhhs.nh.gov/tcp
Applications and Forms: https://www.dhhs.nh.gov/tcp-forms; (603) 271-9255 
Contact: (603) 271-9333; TCP@dhhs.nh.gov; NH DHHS, Therapeutic Cannabis Program, 29 Hazen Dr., Concord, NH 03301 

Minimum Requirements for a Minor Qualifying Patient and their Designated Caregiver 
• The minor patient must be a resident of New Hampshire.
• The minor patient must be diagnosed by two medical providers, one of whom must be a pediatrician, as having a

qualifying medical condition that is listed in NH law.
• The custodial parent or legal guardian:

o Must apply for and be approved as the minor’s Designated Caregiver
o Must be at least 21 years old
o Must never have been convicted of a felony

• Both the patient and the caregiver must be issued a Registry ID Card by the Therapeutic Cannabis Program.
• A minor may have two Designated Caregivers, both of whom must be the patient’s custodial parent or legal guardian.
• The Designated Caregiver must purchase and control the possession and frequency of use of the minor patient’s

cannabis.
Qualifying Medical Conditions 
Two medical providers, one of whom must be a pediatrician, must certify that the minor patient has a qualifying medical 
condition that is listed in NH law, as follows: 

• Moderate to severe chronic pain; OR
• Severe pain; OR
• Moderate or severe post-traumatic stress disorder ; OR
• Autism spectrum disorder (with an additional provider consultation requirement for the certifying provider); OR
• Opioid use disorder with associated symptoms of cravings and/or withdrawal (requires a provider who is actively treating 

the patient for opioid use disorder and is board-certified in Addiction Medicine or Addiction Psychiatry); OR
• Any combination of a qualifying diagnosis from (1) AND a qualifying symptom or side effect from (2):

1. Cancer; glaucoma; positive status for human immunodeficiency virus; acquired immune deficiency syndrome; hepatitis 
C; amyotrophic lateral sclerosis; muscular dystrophy; Crohn’s disease; multiple sclerosis; chronic pancreatitis; spinal 
cord injury or disease; traumatic brain injury; epilepsy; lupus; Parkinson’s disease; Alzheimer’s disease; ulcerative 
colitis; Ehlers-Danlos syndrome; or one or more injuries or conditions that has resulted in one or more qualifying 
symptoms under (2); AND

2. Elevated intraocular pressure; cachexia; chemotherapy-induced anorexia; wasting syndrome; agitation of Alzheimer’s 
disease; severe pain; constant or severe nausea; moderate to severe vomiting; seizures; or severe, persistent muscle 
spasms; or moderate to severe insomnia. 

Medical Providers 
ANY PHYSICIAN (MD/DO), PHYSICIAN ASSISTANT (PA), OR ADVANCED PRACTICE REGISTERED NURSE (APRN) 
LICENSED IN NH IS PERMITTED BY LAW TO CERTIFY A PATIENT FOR THE THERAPEUTIC CANNABIS PROGRAM. 
• Talk with any of your current medical providers about your interest in the Program. Ask if they will certify the patient by

issuing a “Written Certification” (available on the Program’s website: https://www.dhhs.nh.gov/tcp-forms
• State law does not require any medical provider to issue a Written Certification to their patients.
• There is no requirement for a provider to be registered with the State as a “marijuana doctor.”
• There is not a public list of medical providers who participate in the Program. The Program cannot refer you to a

provider. You must work with your current providers or develop a relationship with a new provider to become certified.
• In addition, physicians and APRNs (but not PAs) licensed in Maine, Massachusetts, or Vermont are permitted to certify

you. Border-state providers must be “primarily responsible for your care related to your qualifying medical condition,”
which means that you should ask your primary care provider or your specialist who is treating your qualifying condition.

The certifying medical provider may: 
• Issue a Written Certification for any duration up to 3 years. The default duration is one year.
• Send instructions to your Alternative Treatment Center (ATC; dispensary), such as the type of cannabis or the means by

which the cannabis should be administered, and the ATC is required to follow such instructions.
• Withdraw the certification at any time and for any reason if in the provider’s opinion the patient should no longer be

certified for the therapeutic use of cannabis.

mailto:TCP@dhhs.nh.gov
https://www.dhhs.nh.gov/tcp
https://www.dhhs.nh.gov/tcp-forms
https://www.dhhs.nh.gov/tcp-forms
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GENERAL PROGRAM INFORMATION (Continued) 

Alternative Treatment Centers
There are seven Alternative Treatment Center (ATC) dispensaries in NH for dispensing therapeutic cannabis. Registered 
Qualifying Patients and their Designated Caregivers are allowed to purchase cannabis from any ATC location in the state. 
You must show your Registry ID Card and valid photo identification to enter the ATC dispensaries. The ATCs in New 
Hampshire are as follows: 

• GraniteLeaf Cannabis (formerly Prime ATC), with dispensaries located in Merrimack and Chichester. 
380 Daniel Webster Highway, Units A and C, Merrimack, NH 03054. Phone: (603) 262-5035
349 Dover Road (Route 4), Chichester, NH 03258. Phone: (603) 212-1500
Website: graniteleaf.com.  Email: info@graniteleaf.com.

• Sanctuary ATC, with dispensaries located in Plymouth and Conway.
568 Tenney Mountain Highway, Plymouth, NH 03264. Phone: (603) 346-4619
234 White Mountain Highway (Route16), Conway, NH 03818. Phone: (603) 662-0113
Website: www.sanctuaryatc.org. Email: info@sanctuaryatc.org.

• Temescal Wellness, with dispensaries located in Dover, Lebanon, and Keene.
26 Crosby Road, Units 11-12, Dover, NH 03820
367 Route 120, Unit E-2, Lebanon, NH 03766
69 Island Street, Suite 1, Keene, NH 03431
Website: nh.temescalwellness.com. Email: info@temescalwellness.com. Phone: (603) 285-9383 

Confidentiality 

The Program will maintain the confidentiality of all personal information about applicants, patients, caregivers, and 
certifying medical providers contained in the confidential Registry database. Local and state law enforcement officers, 
however, are allowed to receive limited information from the Registry if a person has been arrested or detained, or when 
there is probable cause to believe either cannabis is possessed at a specific address or by a specific individual. 

Renewals/Extensions 

• A Registry ID Card is effective for up to three years.
• There is no difference between the initial and the renewal application process or forms, except that:

o Proof of NH residency is not required if there has not been a change of address (unless your card has been
expired for more than 6 months).

• There is no penalty for renewing after the suggested deadline; however, please submit your renewal materials at
least 30 days prior to your card’s expiration to prevent a lapse in your registration.

• A card with a duration that is shorter than three years may be extended, without needing to renew, by using the
"Written Certification Extension" form, located on the Program's website: https://www.dhhs.nh.gov/tcp-forms

http://www.primeatc.com./
http://www.sanctuaryatc.org./
https://nh.temescalwellness.com/
https://graniteleaf.com/
mailto:info@graniteleaf.com
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