The impacts of impaired driving are devastating, including loss of employment, injury, death, and significant costs associated with emergency services, hospital care, adjudication and corrections.
There is a lot we can do by raising awareness about impaired driving. Find out more in the latest NH Issue Brief: Impaired Driving in New Hampshire
EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2013: As a result of a change in statute to increase public safety, individuals convicted of an impaired driving offense are now required to attend and participate in a New Hampshire approved Impaired Driver Care Management Program (IDCMP) for a screening and evaluation to determine if there is a substance use disorder and to participate in treatment, education and/or recovery support services (when indicated) within a shorter span than previously required. All IDCMPs and Impaired Driver Service Providers (IDSP) must be approved by the Bureau of Drug and Alcohol Services.
- First Offense
- Aggravated, Second or Subsequent Offense
- Prior Convictions
- Important Instructions for the Driver Convicted of Driving While Impaired
An individual convicted of an impaired driving offense must complete an intake and screening at a New Hampshire approved IDCMP within 14 days of conviction in order to be eligible to receive a reduction in their license revocation requirements.
If the screening is negative, the individual will be required to complete an Impaired Driver Education Program (IDEP) or a Weekend Impaired Driver Education Program (WIDEP).
If the screening is positive, the individual will be required to complete a full substance use disorder evaluation within 30 days of conviction to be eligible to receive a reduction in their license revocation requirements.
If the evaluation is positive, the IDCMP will create a service plan, which may include treatment, education and/or recovery support services.Non-compliance with any of the above will result in a full license revocation time period and the driving privileges will not be restored until the individual has successfully completed an IDCMP.
When an individual is convicted of an aggravated, second, or subsequent offense in the last ten years, they will receive a minimum 5-day sentence in the County House of Correction (HOC) from the court. A certain portion (depending on the level of offense) of the HOC time is suspended to encourage individuals to participate in the program, which can be imposed by the courts if individuals are non-compliant with any of the requirements.
The individual is required to schedule a full substance use disorder evaluation within 30 days and complete the evaluation within 60 days of the release from the HOC. All aggravated, second and subsequent offenders will have a service plan, which may include treatment, education and/or recovery support services.
Non-compliance with any of the above will result in a full license revocation time period and the driving privileges will not be restored until the individual has successfully completed an IDCMP.
If you were convicted of an impaired driving offense prior to 1/1/13 AND attended a former IDIP/WIDIP, Phase II or MOP Program, AND had an Exit Interview with a LADC at that time, AND have established requirements for after counseling, the old statute and rule applies and you should complete your aftercare with a LADC. Please contact the program you attended for further information and assistance.
If you were convicted of an impaired driving offense prior to 1/13 and HAVE NOT attended a former IDIP/WIDIP, Phase II or MOP Program, you are now required to be serviced through the Impaired Driver Care Management Program. Please contact an IDCMP from the following list: IDCMP Sites and What They Offer
For questions or information, please contact Patti Fowler, Impaired Driver Intervention Program Coordinator, at (603) 271-6107 or email@example.com.
- He-A 500 Impaired Driver Programs Rules
- HB 283 Impaired Driving House Bill
- RSA 265-A Impaired Driving Statute
- Impaired Driver Education Program Instructor Certification and Recertification Application
- Impaired Driver Service Provider (IDSP) Application
- Impaired Driver Care Management Program (IDCMP) Application
- Impaired Driver Service Provider Frequently Asked Questions
- IDCMP Sites & What They Offer
- Statute Changes for Out-of-State Offenders
- Rules of Use for the NH Web Information Technology System (WITS)
Adobe Acrobat Reader format. You can download a free reader from Adobe.