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  BACKGROUND CHECK REQUIREMENTS 
 
 
 

Fact Sheet for License-Exempt Child Care Program 
Employee or Volunteer 

The Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) requires your fingerprints checked 
when you apply to become a license-exempt child care program employee or volunteer, age 
18 years or older, who has contact with children. New Hampshire Law RSA170-E:7 requires 
that DHHS conduct background checks on license-exempt child care providers enrolled in the 
Child Care Scholarship program. The background check will consist of: 

• Fingerprint-based criminal record check of the FBI national database (age 18 and older); 

• Check of National and State Sex Offender Public Websites; 

• Criminal History Record check for every state lived in during the past five years, and 

• Check of the Child Abuse and Neglect Registries for every state lived in during the past five years 
(age 12 and older). 

What You Need to Know about Fingerprinting  

This is the Process to Follow 

Every person being fingerprinted should: 

1. Pick up the necessary forms from your 
employer; 

2. Complete NH Health and Human Services 
Criminal History Record Information 
Authorization Form DSSP372; 

3. Call the appointment desk at 603-223-3867 
and identify yourself as a license-exempt 
child care provider, employee or volunteer. 
Ask to schedule an appointment to be 
fingerprinted; 

4. Have your signature on the  NH Health and 
Human Services Criminal History Record 
Information Authorization Form DSSP372 
notarized by a notary public no more than 
one week before your appointment; 

5. Arrive at the fingerprint station at least 10 
minutes before your scheduled appointment. 

Be Sure to Bring the Following Three 
Items with You: 

• The notarized Criminal History Record 
Information Authorization Form DSSP372. You 
must have the forms notarized before you 
arrive for your appointment. If the forms are 
not notarized, the station will not take your 
fingerprints. You will then have to schedule 
another appointment for a date after the 
forms are notarized; 

• Official Federal or State issued photo 
identification such as a driver’s license or 
passport; 

• A check or money order for $12.00 for each 
individual being fingerprinted. Make the check 
payable to: State of NH Criminal Records. 

 
 

I f  you don’ t  have a va l id  dr iver ’s  l icense or  
passport ,  you can have a State issued 
photo ID made at  your  loca l  Department  o f  
Motor  Vehic les .   They wi l l  requi re  an  
or ig ina l  b i r th  cer t i f icate and one other  
form of  ident i f icat ion,  such as your  soc ia l  
secur i ty card,  a long  wi th  proof-o f -
res idency,  for  each person.   A t  the  
Department  o f  Motor  Vehic les ,  complete 
the dr i ver ’s  l icense appl icat ion and pay the 
$10.00 fee. 



What You Can Expect 

A Department of Safety employee will assist you 
with the fingerprinting process. Expect the 
appointment to require 15 minutes of your time. 
This is an inkless process. Your prints will be 
taken on a digital machine. Your fingerprints will 
be processed through the New Hampshire State 
Police and the FBI databases. 

The Results of the Background Checks 

The results of the background checks will include 
any records held in the FBI and New Hampshire 
State Police criminal records databases, as well 
as any records in the central registry of child 
abuse and neglect. DHHS will receive the results 
and a copy will be placed in your child care 
employer’s enrollment file. 

If the background check reveals information of 
concern, you will receive a certified letter. You 
will need to submit a letter of explanation. You 
may also be required to submit a corrective 
action plan prior to final approval of your 
employment as a license-exempt child care 
program employee or volunteer.  Your employer 
will receive a letter regarding the fact that there 
is a concern. 

What Else You Should Know 

             

 
 
 
 

Fingerprint Stations 

NH Department of Safety: 33 Hazen Drive 
(James H. Hayes Building), Concord 

DMV Manchester Commons: 377 South 
Willow Street, Manchester 

DMV Dover Point: 50 Boston Harbor Road, 
Dover 

Troop C – Keene area: 15 Ash Brook Court, 
Keene 

Troop E – Ossipee area: 1864 Route 16, 
Tamworth 

Troop F – Littleton area: 549 Route 302, Twin 
Mountain 

 
If you have questions, please call the Child Care 
Enrollment Specialist at 1-800-852-3345 Ext. 
2175. 

Every three years you shall be required to 
complete a new background check form.  Every 
five years you shall be required to be 
fingerprinted.  If you are reapplying because your 
enrollment closed, you will be subject to a 
background check and fingerprints before your 
enrollment can be reopened. Only live scan 
fingerprints are accepted.  No ink prints will be 
accepted. 
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