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� NH Breastfeeding Law, Commission for Human Rights 603-271-2767                                                      
 

Title X:132:10-d. Breast-feeding a child does not constitute an act of indecent exposure and to 

restrict or limit the right of a mother to breast-feed her child is discriminatory.  

 

New Hampshire law RSA 132.10d, enacted in 1999 protects a woman’s right to breastfeed in 

public. If a woman feels she has been discriminated against, she should file a complaint with 

the New Hampshire Commission for Human Rights. 

� File your complaint as soon as possible. A charge MUST be filed within 180 days of the 

last date of alleged discrimination. (Under certain circumstances a charge may be filed 

up to 300 days from the date of alleged discrimination. If you are beyond 180 days, 

contact the Commission immediately to find out if you can file a charge.)  

You may contact the Commission either by telephone or in writing by using an Intake 

Questionnaire form. Neither being interviewed nor filling out the questionnaire automatically 

creates a formal charge of discrimination. You will be contacted if your situation comes under 

the Commission’s jurisdiction.  

 

The Intake Questionnaire form is available online at http://www.nh.gov/hrc/howto.html 
 
 

� Break Time for Nursing Mother Law, US Department of Labor, NH office 

603-666-7716 
 

Effective March 23, 2010, the US Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act amended the Fair 

Labor Standards Act to require employers to provide a nursing mother a place and 

reasonable break time to express breast milk after the birth of her child. The following is 

required: 

 

� Reasonable time to express breast milk each time it is needed during the day, up to the 

baby’s first birthday, and  

� A place, other than a bathroom, that is private to express breast milk. 

Are you a breastfeeding 

mom? Know your rights. 
 

If you feel you have been unfairly 

treated while breastfeeding please 

contact the appropriate agency. 
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� An employer that employs fewer than 50 employees and proves an undue hardship 

may be exempt. The employer must apply for exemption through the Department of 

Labor. 

� Nothing in this law shall preempt a State law that provides greater protections. NOTE: 

New Hampshire does not currently have a Break Time for Nursing Mothers State law. 

 

If you believe your employer is not complying with this law, you have a right to contact the 

Federal Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division (WHD). Upon calling your local WHD 

office, an intake person will ask for the complaint to be described and will verify your place of 

employment.  The clerk will inquire if the employer is a “qualifying place of employment” and if 

they fall under the Wage and Hour Department laws. If you do not know the answer, you may 

still file a complaint. The WHD can determine that information. The complaint will then be 

marked valid or not. A valid complaint will be investigated. A Break Time for Nursing Mothers 

fact sheet is available online at http://www.dol.gov/whd/regs/compliance/whdfs73.htm 

 

To view other States’ breastfeeding legislation:  

www.ncsl.org/IssuesResearch/Health/BreastfeedingLaws/tabid/14389/Default.aspx 

 

 

Breastfeeding Support Resources 

New Hampshire WIC Nutrition Program http://www.dhhs.nh.gov/dphs/nhp/wic/index.htm 

Business Case for Breastfeeding www.womenshealth.gov/breastfeeding/ 

Le Leche League International www.llli.org/ 

Women’s Health http://www.womenshealth.gov/breastfeeding/ 
NH DHHS Breastfeeding Promotion and Support 

www.dhhs.nh.gov/dphs/nhp/wic/breastfeeding.htm 

NH Breastfeeding Task Force www.nhbreastfeedingtaskforce.org/index.html 

 

 

General Breastfeeding Questions and Information          

NH State WIC Breastfeeding Coordinator, Lissa Sirois, RD, IBCLC  

603-271-0571 or email Lissa.a.Sirois@dhhs.state.nh.us 
 


