skip navigation Smaller text size Reset text size Larger text size
Families & Children Women Teens Adults Seniors People with Disabilities
New Hampshire Health Protection Program

NHHPP

Two New, Affordable Health Coverage Options for Granite Staters

What is the New Hampshire Health Protection Program?

In 2014, changes in State law created the New Hampshire Health Protection Program (NHHPP), a part of the New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS). NHHPP provides many low-income Granite Staters with two new options to get health insurance coverage at little or no cost. These two new programs are:

  1. Health Insurance Premium Payment Program (HIPP):  If you or someone in your family is eligible to receive health insurance through an employer, you may qualify for help in covering your insurance costs. If you are eligible for the HIPP Program, the New Hampshire Health Protection Program will pay your share of the insurance costs. For more information regarding the Health Insurance Premium Payment Program (HIPP) visit the HIPP web page.
  2. Bridge Program: If you or someone in your household is not eligible to receive health insurance through your employer, or if you don’t qualify for the HIPP Program, you may be eligible to sign up for a private health insurance plan through the state’s Bridge Program.

Who may be eligible for coverage through the New Hampshire Health Protection Program?

Thousands of Granite Staters are eligible to receive coverage at little or no cost through the New Hampshire Health Protection Program. Coverage through the New Hampshire Health Protection Program is available to Granite Staters aged 19 to 65 whose monthly household incomes are at or below the following levels:

Household Size

If Your Household Income is This Amount or Less Each MONTH

If Your Household Income is This Amount or Less Each YEAR

1 $1,342 $16,105
2 $1,809 $21,707
3 $2,276 $27,310
4 $2,743 $32,913
5 $3,210 $38,516

How can I apply for coverage? When would coverage begin?

The New Hampshire Health Protection Program will begin accepting applications for coverage this summer, with coverage beginning soon after. Applications will be accepted online and through paper applications at your local Department of Health and Human Services district office.

  • July 1: New Hampshire Health Protection Program Applications Accepted
  • August 15: Coverage Begins
  • September 1: Transition to Care Management (for those that are not eligible for HIPP)

There are four ways to apply:

  1. Online: visit www.nheasy.nh.gov
    Hours: 6:00AM and 12:00AM (midnight) 7 days a week
  2. By phone: Call the Medicaid Service Center at 1-888-901-4999 where you will receive personalized assistance and can get your questions answered
    Hours: 8:00AM to 4:00 PM Monday - Friday
  3. Submit a paper application: Visit a DHHS District Office or download an application here on our website http://www.dhhs.nh.gov/dfa/apply.htm
  4. The ACA Marketplace: Go online and sign up at www.healthcare.gov

Want more information?

Download these documents to learn more.

Presentations

Important Information Regarding Pharmacy Co-Pays

Effective July 6, 2014 through October 31, 2014, pharmacies will not charge a co-pay to any Medicaid enrollee, including those enrolled with the Medicaid Care Management Organizations: Well Sense Health Plan, New Hampshire Healthy Families and Meridian Health Plan. read more...

Provider Training Opportunities

 

Adobe Acrobat Reader Symbol Adobe Acrobat Reader format. You can download a free reader from Adobe.


 
Translate this page

Disclaimer

New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services
129 Pleasant Street | Concord, NH | 03301-3852


copyright 2010. State of New Hampshire