
 
 

 
 

TO:  New Hampshire Medicaid Pharmacy Providers 
FROM: New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS)  
DATE: August 24, 2016 
SUBJECT: Cost of Dispensing Survey 
 
State Medicaid agencies are being directed by the federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services 
(CMS) to adopt fee-for service pharmacy payment policies designed to pay pharmacies for the actual 
acquisition cost of drugs plus a reasonable professional dispensing fee, based on the actual cost to the 
pharmacy of dispensing drugs to Medicaid beneficiaries.  
 
This letter is to inform you that DHHS will be performing a pharmacy cost of dispensing survey to 
analyze the cost of dispensing prescription medications to N. H.  Medicaid beneficiaries. To perform this 
survey DHHS has partnered with the New England States Consortium Systems Organization (NESCSO) 
and the accounting firm of Myers and Stauffer LC, a reputable firm with extensive experience in 
pharmacy costs and reimbursement. 
 
In the next couple of weeks you will be receiving a pharmacy cost of dispensing survey packet as part of 
the process to evaluate the costs associated with dispensing prescription medication.  All N.H. Medicaid 
pharmacy providers should complete the survey. 
 
Your cooperation in providing the information for this survey process will be greatly appreciated 
 
 
Emergency Drug Coverage 
Pharmacies are reminded that federal statute requires Medicaid programs (Fee-for-Service and managed 
care) provide payment for dispensing of at least a 72-hour supply for any drugs requiring prior 
authorizations if prior authorization cannot be obtained outside of Medicaid business hours. (Section 1927 
of the Social Security Act.  Codified as Section 1396r-8 of Title 42.(d)(5) (B))  
 
Pharmacies must request payment for the 72-hour supply from the client’s prescription plan, either Fee-
For-Service or the appropriate Medicaid MCO. 
 
Important Reminder 
Medicaid providers are not permitted to require Medicaid recipients to pay copayments as a condition for 
receiving services. However, the consequences for a recipient who does not pay the copayment is that the 
provider (a) may request the copayment each time a recipient needs an item or service; (b) may ask a 
recipient for outstanding copayments the next time the recipient comes in for an item or service, (c) may 
send the recipient bills.  
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