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PATIENT APPLICATION 
For the Therapeutic Use of Cannabis 

APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS 
Information about the Therapeutic Cannabis Program, including the law (RSA 126-X), the rules (He-C 400), and all 

required forms, is available on the Program’s website at: https://www.dhhs.nh.gov/tcp 

1. Read the “General Program Information” at the end of this application packet.
2. Complete ALL information on pages 1 and 3. Complete page 2 if you want to designate a caregiver and/or if you want

to provide voluntary demographic information.
3. Submit with this Application Form:

3a) The “Written Certification for the Therapeutic Use of Cannabis” form completed by your medical provider.
3b) Proof of New Hampshire residency.*  Submit ONE of the following:

• A copy of your New Hampshire driver’s license or New Hampshire State ID (front only); OR
• Any other documentation that contains your name and current NH address, such as a current lease agreement

or vehicle registration, or a utility bill, medical bill, property tax bill, mortgage statement, bank statement,
government check, or payroll check with a date showing that it was issued within the previous 6 months; OR

• Other state or federal government-issued identification that shows your name and NH address.
*Proof of residency is not required for renewal applications if there has not been a change of address.

3c) A $50 application fee:
• A check or money order made payable to “Treasurer, State of New Hampshire” in the amount of $50.
• The Program cannot accept cash, credit cards, or installment payments.

4. Mail or hand-deliver the following:
Required Documents: To This Address: 

  A completed Patient Application 
  A completed Written Certification (from your provider) 
  Proof of NH residency (see 3b above) 
  Application fee (see 3c above) 

NH Department of Health and Human Services 
Therapeutic Cannabis Program 
29 Hazen Drive 
Concord, NH 03301 

5. Application processing:
• Application processing takes up to 3 weeks.

• The Program will approve or deny a complete application within 15 days of receipt.
• The Program will issue a Registry ID Card within 5 days of approval.

• Incomplete applications:
• You will be notified in writing within 10 days of receipt if an application is incomplete.
• You will be asked to submit the missing information/documentation within 30 days from the date of the notice.
• If you don’t provide the missing information/documentation within 6 months of the notice, your application will be

closed. You will need to reapply by resubmitting ALL required application materials, including the fee.
• The processing times listed above will begin when the application is complete.

6. Other Applications:
• If the applicant is a minor, use the “Minor Patient Application,” which is a combined patient/caregiver application.
• If the applicant is an adult with a guardian, AND the guardian is applying to be the patient’s Designated Caregiver, use

the “Guardianship Patient Application.” See the “General Program Information” at the end of this application packet.

mailto:TCP@dhhs.nh.gov
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/NHTOC/NHTOC-X-126-X.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rules/state_agencies/he-c400.html
https://www.dhhs.nh.gov/tcp
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RSA 126-X:4, VI – NOTICE EXPLAINING FEDERAL LAW 
ON THE POSSESSION OF CANNABIS 

RSA 126-X, Use of Cannabis for Therapeutic Purposes creates an exemption in state law from criminal penalties 
for the therapeutic use of cannabis provided that its use is in compliance with RSA 126-X. State law does not 
exempt a person from federal criminal penalties for the possession of cannabis. 

Federal administrations have expressed intention not to pursue or target patients and their caregivers who possess 
or use small amounts of cannabis for therapeutic use who are part of and compliant with a well-regulated state 
therapeutic cannabis program. However, federal law does not allow for the medical or therapeutic use of 
cannabis, and the federal government can enforce federal cannabis laws anywhere in the United States, including 
in states that allow the therapeutic use of cannabis. Federal criminal penalties for the possession of cannabis, in 
any amount, range from misdemeanors to felonies, and may include incarceration and fines. 

To decrease the risk of any federal law enforcement action, patients and caregivers should know and abide by 
New Hampshire law with regard to the possession and use of therapeutic cannabis at all times. 

OTHER FEDERAL IMPLICATIONS 

Qualifying patients who use cannabis may be denied rights and privileges by federal agencies including, but not 
limited to, those related to employment such as driving a commercial vehicle, those related to owning, 
possessing, or purchasing a firearm and ammunition, those related to federally subsidized housing, those related 
to immigration and naturalization, or the inability to pass a security clearance. (See below for more information 
on the federal firearms restriction.) 

FEDERAL FIREARMS NOTICE 

The U.S. Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF) has directed federal firearms licensees, in 
an open letter issued in 2011, not to transfer firearms or ammunition to users of a controlled substance, including 
marijuana, regardless of whether their state has passed legislation authorizing marijuana use for medicinal 
purposes. According to the federal directive, any user of marijuana “is an unlawful user of or addicted to a 
controlled substance, and is prohibited by Federal law from possessing firearms or ammunition.” 

If a federal firearms licensee is aware that a person is in possession of a card authorizing the possession and use 
of marijuana under state law, that licensee has “reasonable cause to believe” that the person is an unlawful user 
of a controlled substance, and may not transfer firearms or ammunition to that person, even if the person 
answered “no” to question 21.g on “ATF Form 4473.” Note that this form was revised effective December 2022 
and includes specific reference to state marijuana laws. 

References 
• ATF open letter: https://www.atf.gov/file/60211/download
• ATF Form 4473: https://www.atf.gov/file/61446/download
• HUD memos: https://www.hud.gov/sites/documents/MED-MARIJUANA.PDF

https://www.hud.gov/sites/documents/USEOFMARIJINMFASSISTPROPTY.PDF 

mailto:TCP@dhhs.nh.gov
http://www.atf.gov/file/60211/download
https://www.atf.gov/file/61446/download
https://www.hud.gov/sites/documents/MED-MARIJUANA.PDF
https://www.hud.gov/sites/documents/USEOFMARIJINMFASSISTPROPTY.PDF
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PATIENT APPLICATION 
FOR THE THERAPEUTIC USE OF CANNABIS 

  Initial Application 

  Renewal Application 
(or expired/lapsed) 

Note to Applicant: These items are required to be submitted with this Application: 
1. A completed Written Certification (from your medical provider)
2. A $50 application fee (check/money order, payable to “Treasurer – State of NH”)
3. Proof of NH residency* (copy of NH license/State ID, current lease, recent utility bill, etc.)

*This is NOT required for renewals if you are at the same address.

PATIENT INFORMATION 
Name First Last Middle Initial 

Date of 
Birth 

MM/DD/YYYY  Female     Male     Non-binary/Other gender     Choose not to disclose 

 Choose to self-describe: __________________________________________ 
Gender 

Phone 
Number 

Mailing 
Address 

Street/P.O. Box/Apt # 

City State Zip Code 

Physical 
Address 

(If different than mailing address) (If experiencing homelessness, this is not required) 

MEDICAL PROVIDER INFORMATION 

Name First Last 

Business 
Address 

Street/Suite # 

City State Zip Code 

Phone 
Number 

Instructions: Complete pages 1 and 3 of this form.  
Complete page 2 to designate a caregiver and/or to provide voluntary demographic information. 

Mail or Deliver to: NH DHHS, Therapeutic Cannabis Program, 29 Hazen Dr., Concord, NH 03301

Provide information about the medical provider who completed your Written Certification.

This section must be filled out and must match the provider who completed your Written Certification.

THIS PATIENT APPLICATION HAS THREE PAGES. 

YOU MUST SIGN AND DATE PAGE 3. 



Page 2 of 3 Patient Application 
Version 10/23

DESIGNATE A CAREGIVER – OPTIONAL 
Instructions: Read the “Designate a Caregiver” section at the end of 
this application packet. The person you designate below must submit a 
“Caregiver Application,” submitted separately or with this application. 

Is a “Caregiver Application” enclosed or has it 
already been submitted for the person listed 
below?      Yes      No 

Name First Last Middle Initial 

Mailing 
Address 

Street/P.O. Box/Apt # 

City State Zip Code 

Date of 
Birth 

MM/DD/YYYY 

VOLUNTARY DEMOGRAPHIC INFORMATION 
Your voluntary answers are requested.  

The information on this page will not be used for eligibility determination. Under the Health Insurance Portability 
and Accountability Act (HIPAA), personally identifiable information is protected information.  

PATIENT INFORMATION 
Race/Ethnicity 
Are you Hispanic, Latino/a, or Spanish origin? 

 No   
 Yes, specify (one or more categories may be selected): 
 Mexican, Mexican American, Chicano/a    Puerto Rican 
 Another Hispanic, Latino/a, or Spanish origin  Cuban   

What is your race? (One or more categories may be selected) 
 White  Korean 
 Black or African American  Vietnamese 
 American Indian or Alaska Native  Other Asian 
 Asian Indian  Native Hawaiian 
 Chinese  Guamanian or Chamorro 
 Filipino  Samoan 
 Japanese  Other Pacific Islander 

Veteran Status 
Have you ever served on active duty in the US Armed Forces, either 
in the regular military or in a National Guard or military reserve unit? 

 No     Yes 

Employment 
Are you currently: (Check all that apply) 

 Employed full time (35 or more hours per week) 
 Employed part time (up to 35 hours per week) 
 Unemployed and currently looking for work 
 Unemployed and not currently looking for work 
 Student  Retired  Homemaker 
 Self-employed  Unable to work 

What is your annual household income? 
 Less than $25,000  $75,000 to $99,999 
 $25,000 to $49,999  $100,000 or more 
 $50,000 to $74,999 

Public Assistance 
In the past 12 months, have you been enrolled in a public assistance 
program? 

 No     
 Yes, specify: (Check all that apply) 
 Medicaid   
 Supplemental Security Income (SSI) 
 Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI) 
 Other, specify: ______________________ 

Education 
What is the highest level of education completed? 

 Some high school        Community college/2-yr degree 
 High school diploma / GED    University/4-year college   
 Technical school     Graduate program or more 

Are you currently enrolled in school? 
 No 
 Yes, specify: 
 High school          University / 4-year college 
 Technical school         Graduate program 
 Community college/2-yr degree 

Health Insurance 
What is the primary source of your health care coverage? 

 Employer-based plan (including through another person's 
employer) 

 A plan that you or a family member buys on your own 
 Medicare   
 Medicaid, including Healthy Families, Well Sense, or 
AmeriHealth Caritas   

 TRICARE, VA, or Military 
 Other source   
 None (no coverage) 

Marital Status 
What is your marital status? 

 Married        Separated 
 Divorced       Never married 
 Widowed  Member of an unmarried partnership 

Language Proficiency 
How well do you speak English? 

 Very well     Well   Not well   Not at all 

Do you speak another language other than English at home? 
 No   
 Yes, Spanish 
 Yes, not Spanish. Specify: _______________________ 
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THERAPEUTIC CANNABIS PROGRAM ACKNOWLEDGMENTS 
I understand that my Registry ID Card is valid for one year, unless a shorter or longer duration is indicated by my provider. I must 
renew or extend my card prior to its expiration in order to prevent a lapse in registration.

I understand that if I am notified of a denial or a revocation I have 30 days from the date of the notice to appeal the decision, and 
that if an appeal request is not made within that timeframe then I will have waived my right to an appeal and the action of the 
Department shall become final. 

I understand that I may not possess, between myself and my Designated Caregiver, more than 2 ounces of cannabis, or 
obtain more than 2 ounces of cannabis in any 10-day period from any source. 
I understand that I may only use cannabis for the purpose of treating or alleviating my qualifying medical condition. 

I understand that I may not be under the influence of cannabis: (1) while operating a motor vehicle, commercial vehicle, boat, 
vessel, or any other vehicle propelled or drawn by power other than muscular power; (2) in my place of employment, without the 
written permission of my employer; or (3) while operating heavy machinery or handling a dangerous instrumentality. 

I understand that I may not smoke or vaporize cannabis in any public place, including a public bus or other public vehicle, or 
any public park, public beach, or public field. 

I understand that I may not be in possession of cannabis in any of the following locations: (1) the building and grounds of any 
preschool, elementary, or secondary school, which are located in an area designated as a drug free zone; (2) a place of 
employment, without the written permission of the employer; (3) any correctional facility; (4) any public recreation center or 
youth center; or (5) any law enforcement facility. 

I understand that I may use cannabis on privately-owned real property only with written permission of the property owner or, in 
the case of leased property, with the permission of the tenant in possession of the property. 

I have instructed a family member, caretaker, executor, and my Designated Caregiver that, in the event of my death, the 
Department shall be notified within 5 days that I have died, and that within 5 days of learning of my death, the family member, 
caretaker, executor, or my Designated Caregiver shall either request that the local law enforcement agency remove any 
remaining cannabis or dispose of the cannabis in a manner that is specified in RSA 126-X:2, XIV. 

I understand that if I am found to be in possession of cannabis outside of my home and I am not in possession of my Registry ID 
Card, I will be subject to a fine of up to $100. 

I understand that any person(s) who makes a fraudulent representation to a law enforcement official of any fact or circumstance 
relating to the therapeutic use of cannabis to avoid arrest or prosecution shall be guilty of a violation and may be fined $500, 
which shall be in addition to any other penalties that may apply for making a false statement to a law enforcement official or for 
the use of cannabis other than use undertaken pursuant to RSA 126-X. 

I understand that the protections granted by RSA 126-X for the therapeutic use of cannabis apply only within New Hampshire. 

I understand that I must be in compliance with RSA 126-X and with the administrative rules adopted thereunder, and that the 
Department may revoke my Registry ID Card for any violation of any provision of RSA 126-X or the rules adopted thereunder. 

I understand that by using cannabis I may be denied rights and privileges by federal agencies including, but not limited to, those 
related to employment such as driving a commercial vehicle, those related to owning, possessing, or purchasing a firearm and 
ammunition, those related to federally subsidized housing, those related to immigration and naturalization, or the inability to pass 
a security clearance. 

MEDICAL RELEASE, CERTIFICATION, AND NON-DIVERSION PLEDGE 

I, hereby, attest to the Acknowledgments listed above. 
I, hereby, authorize the release of relevant medical information by the provider listed on page 1 to the NH DHHS if 
additional information about my qualifying medical condition or Written Certification is required.
I, hereby, certify that I am a resident of New Hampshire and the facts as stated in this Application are accurate to the best 
of my knowledge and belief. I understand that any false statements made on this Application are punishable as 
unsworn falsification under RSA 641:3. 
I, hereby, pledge not to divert cannabis to anyone who is not allowed to possess cannabis pursuant to RSA 126-
X, acknowledge that diversion of cannabis shall result in revocation of my Registry ID Card, and acknowledge that the 
sale of cannabis to anyone who is not a qualifying patient or a designated caregiver is punishable as a class B felony with a 
sentence of a maximum term of imprisonment of not more than 7 years, and a fine of not more than $300,000, or both, in 
addition to other penalties for the illegal sale of cannabis. 

Applicant’s 
Signature Date 
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THERAPEUTIC CANNABIS PROGRAM – GENERAL PROGRAM INFORMATION 
(Please keep for your records) 

Program Website: https://www.dhhs.nh.gov/tcp
Applications and Forms: https://www.dhhs.nh.gov/tcp-forms; (603) 271-9255
Contact: (603) 271-9333; TCP@dhhs.nh.gov; NH DHHS, Therapeutic Cannabis Program, 29 Hazen Dr., Concord, NH 03301 

Minimum Requirements to Become a Qualifying Patient 
• You must be a resident of New Hampshire.
• You must be diagnosed by a medical provider as having a qualifying medical condition that is listed in NH law.
• You must apply for and be issued a valid Registry ID Card by the Therapeutic Cannabis Program (TCP).

Qualifying Medical Conditions 
Your medical provider must certify that you have a qualifying medical condition that is listed in NH law, as follows: 
• Moderate to severe chronic pain; OR
• Severe pain; OR
• Moderate or severe post-traumatic stress disorder; OR
• Autism spectrum disorder (with an additional provider consultation requirement for those under age 21); OR
• Opioid use disorder with associated symptoms of cravings and/or withdrawal (requires a provider who is actively treating 

the patient for opioid use disorder and is board-certified in Addiction Medicine or Addiction Psychiatry); OR
• Any combination of a qualifying diagnosis from (1) AND a qualifying symptom or side effect from (2):

1. Cancer; glaucoma; positive status for human immunodeficiency virus; acquired immune deficiency syndrome; hepatitis 
C; amyotrophic lateral sclerosis; muscular dystrophy; Crohn’s disease; multiple sclerosis; chronic pancreatitis; spinal 
cord injury or disease; traumatic brain injury; epilepsy; lupus; Parkinson’s disease; Alzheimer’s disease; ulcerative 
colitis; Ehlers-Danlos syndrome; or one or more injuries or conditions that has resulted in one or more qualifying 
symptoms under (2); AND

2. Elevated intraocular pressure; cachexia; chemotherapy-induced anorexia; wasting syndrome; agitation of Alzheimer’s 
disease; severe pain; constant or severe nausea; moderate to severe vomiting; seizures; or severe, persistent muscle 
spasms; or moderate to severe insomnia. 

Medical Providers 
ANY PHYSICIAN (MD/DO), PHYSICIAN ASSISTANT (PA), OR ADVANCED PRACTICE REGISTERED NURSE (APRN) 
LICENSED IN NH IS PERMITTED BY LAW TO CERTIFY YOU FOR THE THERAPEUTIC CANNABIS PROGRAM.  
• Talk with any of your current medical providers about your interest in the Program. Ask if they will certify you by issuing

you a “Written Certification” (available on the Program’s website).
• State law does not require any medical provider to issue a Written Certification to their patients.
• There is no requirement for a provider to be registered with the State as a “marijuana doctor.”
• There is not a public list of medical providers who participate in the Program. The Program cannot refer you to a

provider. You must work with your current providers or develop a relationship with a new provider to become certified.
• In addition, physicians and APRNs (but not PAs) licensed in Maine, Massachusetts, or Vermont are permitted to certify

you. Border-state providers must be “primarily responsible for your care related to your qualifying medical condition,”
which means that you should ask your primary care provider or your specialist who is treating your qualifying condition.

Your certifying medical provider may: 
• Issue a Written Certification for any duration up to 3 years. The default duration is one year.
• Send instructions to your Alternative Treatment Center (ATC; dispensary), such as the type of cannabis or the means by

which the cannabis should be administered, and the ATC is required to follow such instructions.
• Withdraw your certification at any time and for any reason if in the provider’s opinion you should no longer be certified for

the therapeutic use of cannabis.
Designate a Caregiver 
If you need help with your therapeutic use of cannabis, including help with obtaining cannabis from your ATC, you may 
designate someone to be your caregiver. You may do this on your application or any time after you’ve been approved (use 
the "Caregiver Designation/Removal” form on the Program’s website). You may designate only one caregiver at a time. 
Your caregiver must submit a separate “Caregiver Application” and be issued a Registry ID Card before your 
caregiver can legally assist you with your therapeutic use of cannabis. The caregiver’s Registry ID Card will allow that 
person to legally possess cannabis on your behalf and to legally purchase cannabis from your ATC. To be approved as a 
Designated Caregiver, a person must be at least 21 years old and must never have been convicted of a felony. 

mailto:TCP@dhhs.nh.gov
https://www.dhhs.nh.gov/tcp
https://www.dhhs.nh.gov/tcp-forms


Application Processing
• Application processing takes up to 3 weeks.
• The Program will approve or deny a complete application within 15 days of receipt.
• The Program will issue a Registry ID Card within 5 days of approval.

Incomplete applications:
• You will be notified in writing within 10 days of receipt if an application is incomplete.
• You will be asked to submit the missing information/documentation within 30 days from the date of the notice.
• If you don’t provide the missing information/documentation within 6 months of the notice, your application will be closed.

You will need to reapply by resubmitting ALL required application materials, including the fee.
• The processing times listed above will begin when the application is complete.
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GENERAL PROGRAM INFORMATION (Continued) 
Alternative Treatment Centers 
There are seven Alternative Treatment Center (ATC) dispensaries in New Hampshire for dispensing therapeutic cannabis. 
Registered Qualifying Patients and their Designated Caregivers are allowed to purchase cannabis from any ATC location in 
the state. You must show your Registry ID Card and valid photo identification to enter the ATC dispensaries. It’s 
recommended that you call the ATC before your first visit to a new dispensary. The ATCs in New Hampshire are as follows: 

• GraniteLeaf Cannabis (formerly Prime ATC), with dispensaries located in Merrimack and Chichester. 
380 Daniel Webster Highway, Units A and C, Merrimack, NH 03054. Phone: (603) 262-5035
349 Dover Road (Route 4), Chichester, NH 03258. Phone: (603) 212-1500
Website: graniteleaf.com. Email: info@graniteleaf.com.

• Sanctuary ATC, with dispensaries located in Plymouth and Conway.
568 Tenney Mountain Highway, Plymouth, NH 03264. Phone: (603) 346-4619
234 White Mountain Highway (Route16), Conway, NH 03818. Phone: (603) 662-0113
Website: www.sanctuaryatc.org. Email: info@sanctuaryatc.org.

• Temescal Wellness, with dispensaries located in Dover, and Lebanon, and Keene.
26 Crosby Road, Units 11-12, Dover, NH 03820
367 Route 120, Unit E-2, Lebanon, NH 03766
69 Island Street, Suite 1, Keene, NH 03431
Website: nh.temescalwellness.com. Email: info@temescalwellness.com. Phone: (603) 285-9383 

Confidentiality 
The Program will maintain the confidentiality of all personal information about applicants, Qualifying Patients, Designated 
Caregivers, and certifying medical providers submitted to the Program and contained in the confidential Registry database. 
Local and state law enforcement officers, however, are allowed to receive limited information from the Registry if a person has 
been arrested or detained, or when there is probable cause to believe either cannabis is possessed at a specific address or 
by a specific individual. 

Requirements for Minor Patients (under 18 years of age) 
Use the “Minor Patient Application” located on the Program’s website: https://www.dhhs.nh.gov/tcp-forms 

Requirements for Adult Patients Who Have a Legal Guardian or Co-Guardians 
• If the legal guardian(s) will be the patient’s Designated Caregiver, please use the “Guardianship Patient Application”

located on the Program’s website: https://www.dhhs.nh.gov/tcp-forms
• If the legal guardian is signing this Patient Application on behalf of the patient, proof of guardianship must be submitted

with this application. Submit a copy of the entire order that shows the powers granted to the guardian, which must include
powers related to healthcare decisions.

Renewals/Extensions 
• A Registry ID Card is effective for any duration up to three years, at the discretion of your certifying medical provider.
• There is no difference between the initial and the renewal application process or forms, except that proof of NH residency

is not required if there has not been a change of address (unless your card has been expired for more than six months).
• There is no penalty for renewing after the suggested deadline; however, please submit your renewal application materials

at least 30 days prior to your card’s expiration to prevent a lapse in your registration.
• A card with a duration shorter than three years may be extended, without needing to renew, by using the "Written

Certification Extension" form located on the Program's website: https://www.dhhs.nh.gov/tcp-forms

mailto:info@temescalwellness.com
https://www.dhhs.nh.gov/tcp-forms
https://www.dhhs.nh.gov/tcp-forms
mailto:info@sanctuaryatc.org
https://nh.temescalwellness.com/
www.sanctuaryatc.org
https://www.dhhs.nh.gov/tcp-forms
https://graniteleaf.com/
mailto:info@graniteleaf.com
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