skip navigation Smaller text size Reset text size Larger text size
Families & Children Women Teens Adults Seniors People with Disabilities

Sad Teenage GirlWhat is the New Hampshire Student Assistance Program (SAP)?

SAP counselors served more than 10,000 kids in 2016, helping youth with various social issues, such as bullying, dating violence, and peer pressure. The program has grown from five schools in 2013 to more than 40 today. Read more in our brochure Adobe Acrobat Reader Symbol

Each SAP is different, but all engage in the following activities:

  1. Screening and Assessment of Students
    SAPs screen and assess students for personal and/or family problems resulting from alcohol and other drug misuse, as well as other risk factors.

  2. Prevention Education Series
    SAPs teach a 6-8 session Alcohol, Tobacco and Other Drug Prevention Program in the seventh and ninth grades.

  3. Individual Sessions
    SAPs conduct time-limited, individual sessions.

  4. Group Sessions
    Groups target students who are using tobacco, alcohol and/or other drugs, students with family members who have a substance use disorder, and students at high risk.

  5. Referral / Case Management
    SAPs refer students who require treatment for alcohol, tobacco and/or other drug abuse to appropriate treatment programs.

  6. School-Wide Awareness Activities
    SAPs organize monthly activities with student participation to influence attitudes about substances and mental health.

  7. Environmental
    SAPs meet with parents, students and community groups to develop policies and activities aimed at preventing and reducing adolescent alcohol and other substance misuse.

Sad Teenage BoyHow can a parent, family member, student or concerned community member reach out to SAPs to help a youth who is struggling?

If you are concerned about a student and think they may benefit from a consultation with a SAP contact a participating school to learn more. This information is confidential and will not be shared with the student.

Find the SAP in your community below:

  • Farmington Middle School and High School
    Diana Denitto, 603-755-2627, ddenitto@sau61.org

  • Franklin Middle School and High School
    Barbara Slayton, 603-934-3108, bslayton@sau18.org

  • Kennett Middle and High School
    Rachell Cox, 603-356-4343, r_cox@sau9.org

  • Laconia Middle School and High School
    McKenzie Harrington-Bacote, 603-524-5710, mbacote@laconiaschools.org

  • Manchester School District
    Mary Steady, 603-624-6300, msteady@mansd.org
    Responsible for:
    • Parkside Middle School
    • Southside Middle School
  • Monadnock Family Services / Keene Middle School
    Adriana Troxell Elliot, 603-357-4400, aelliot@mfs.org

  • Newport Middle and High School
    Cindy Gallagher, cgallagher@sau43.org

  • Nute Middle and High School
    Jan Radowicz, 603-652-4591, jan.radowicz@sau64.org

  • North Country Health Consortium
    Amy Jeroy, 603-259-3700 x228, ajeroy@nchcnh.org
    Responsible for:
    • Berlin High School
    • Gorham Middle and High School
    • Groveton Middle and High School
    • Lisbon Middle and High School
    • North Country Charter Academy
    • White Mountain Regional School
    • Woodsville
    • White Mountain Community College
  • North Country Education Services
    Lori Langlois, 603-446-5437, lori@ncedservices.org

  • Portsmouth Middle and High School
    George Shea, 603-436-7100, gshea@portsmouthk12.nh.us
    Responsible for:
    • Greenfield Middle School
    • Rye Middle School
  • Rochester Middle School
    Michelle Halligan-Foley, 603-332-3678, Halligan-Foley@rochesterschools.com

  • Raymond Middle School and High School
    Tina McCoy, 603-524-5710, t.mccoy@sau33.com

  • Sanborn Regional School District
    Thomas Ambrose, 603-642-3341, tambrose@sau17.org

  • SAU6
    Cory LeClair, 603-543-4200, cleclair@sau6.org
    Responsible for:
    • Claremont Middle School
    • Steven’s High School
  • Seacoast Youth Services
    Vic Maloney, 603-474-3332, vic@sys-nh.org

  • Second Start
    Jim Snodgrass, 603-228-1341, jsnodgrass@second-start.org
    Responsible for:
    • Merrimack Valley Middle and High School
    • Pittsfield Elementary and High School
    • Hillsborough-Deering High School
    • Second Start Alternative School
    • Rundlett Middle School
  • The Youth Council / Nashua North High School and Nashua South High School
    Betsy Houde, 603-889-1090, bhoude@theyouthcouncil.org

Adobe Acrobat Reader Symbol Adobe Acrobat Reader format. You can download a free reader from Adobe.

 
Translate this page

Disclaimer

New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services
129 Pleasant Street | Concord, NH | 03301-3852


copyright 2016. State of New Hampshire