skip navigation Smaller text size Reset text size Larger text size
Families & Children Women Teens Adults Seniors People with Disabilities

Who Reports to the NH Registry for Autism Spectrum Disorders?

Under He-M 501.02(f), reporting is mandatory for "any physician, psychologist, or other licensed or certified health care provider who is qualified by training to make the diagnosis of ASD." This would include pediatricians, family physicians, psychiatrists, neurologists, licensed clinical psychologists, and social workers.

How Does a Clinician Report a New Diagnosis?

Clinicians must report using the electronic form on the NH ASD Registry Web site.

If you are having trouble, please contact Erika Downie, Bureau for Family Centered Services, at (603) 271-4533 or by fax at (603) 271-5166.

What Diagnoses are Included in the NH Registry for ASD?

For purposes of this registry, ASD is understood to include all five of the Pervasive Developmental Disorders: Autistic Disorder, Pervasive Developmental Disorder-Not Otherwise Specified (PDD-NOS), Asperger's Syndrome, Retts Disorder, and Childhood Disintegrative Disorder (CDD). The confirmed diagnosis must be one of diagnoses, as per the Diagnostic & Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fourth Edition, Text Revision (DSM-IV-TR). Additional eligibility criteria apply:

  • The NH Registry applies to all cases where a definitive diagnosis has been made. Suspicion of ASD and provisional diagnoses should not be reported.
  • Diagnoses made prior to November 1, 2008 should not be reported.
  • The person with the disorder must also live in the state of New Hampshire at the time the diagnosis was made to be considered for the NH Registry for ASD.
  • The age of the individual and the presence of co-occurring conditions do not rule out the requirement to report the diagnosis.
Translate this page


New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services
129 Pleasant Street | Concord, NH | 03301-3852

copyright 2016. State of New Hampshire