
BUREAU OF FAMILY ASSISTANCE (BFA) 

 

BFA PROGRAMS  
& 

SERVICES GUIDE 

 

NH Department of Health & Human Services 
www.dhhs.nh.gov/DFA 

 

Visit www.NHEASY.nh.gov to apply online! 

 

BFA’s mission is to provide financial, medical, food and nutrition,  
emergency, and child care assistance to eligible New Hampshire residents  

in a timely, equitable, accurate and customer-focused way that reduces the harmful 
effects of poverty and enables NH citizens to achieve and maintain health and 

economic stability, pursuant to State and Federal laws. 

   

http://www.nheasy.nh.gov/


ALL BFA PROGRAMS AND SERVICES ARE BASED ON YOUR INCOME. SOME BFA PROGRAMS 

MAY ALSO LOOK AT THE CASH VALUE OF THINGS THAT YOU OWN, YOUR “RESOURCES” OR 

“ASSETS,” WHEN FIGURING OUT IF YOU QUALIFY FOR A PROGRAM BFA OFFERS. 

   

Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) 

The SNAP Program (formerly Food Stamps) provides monthly benefits to low-income individuals 
and families to help purchase food. Eligibility for this program depends upon your income, resources, 
and expenses. The amount of your SNAP benefit depends upon your household size. 

Resource Limits = no limit for certain households, otherwise $2,250, or $3,250 for elderly/disabled. 

NH Child Care Scholarship 

This program helps low-income families pay for child care while the adult is working, looking for 
work, or attending job-related training or educational activities. The rate of assistance depends upon 
the family’s monthly gross income, household size, and the age of the child. 

This program has no resource limit. 

 
 

 
 

Financial Assistance to Needy Families (FANF) Cash Program 

These programs offer cash benefits to low-income families with dependent children under age 18, or 
up to age 20 if they are a full-time high school or high school equivalency student. One or both 
parents must be disabled, deceased, or absent from the household: 

 The New Hampshire Employment Program (NHEP): NHEP is for families with a child under age 
18, or under age 19 and a full-time student in high school or in a high school equivalency 
program. It is a work-focused program and helps able-bodied parents become self-sufficient 
through employment and training. 

 The Families With Older Children (FWOC) Program: FWOC is for families with a child age 19 up 
to the age of 20 who is a full-time high school student or basic education student. 

 The Interim Disabled Parent (IDP) Program: IDP is for families where at least one parent is 
unable to work due to a medical issue. 

 The Family Assistance Program (FAP): FAP is for relatives who need help caring for related 
children. These relatives cannot get cash benefits for themselves. FAP is also for some families 
that include a disabled parent or parents. 

All of the above programs may require attendance at an NHEP orientation session to get cash 
benefits and all expect adults to comply with the NHEP work program, if getting a cash benefit. 

Resource Limits = $1,000 for applicants & $2,000 for recipients. 
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State Supplement Cash Programs (SSP) 

State Supplement Programs provide cash assistance to certain needy NH residents who are: 

 age 65 or older, through the Old Age Assistance (OAA) Program; 

 disabled and between the ages of 18 and 64, through the Aid to the Permanently and Totally 
Disabled (APTD) Program; or 

 blind, regardless of age, through the Aid to the Needy Blind (ANB) Program. 

Resource Limit = $1,500 

 

MAGI Categories of Medical Assistance 

Medical assistance is offered through the following categories, all of which use the Modified 
Adjusted Gross Income (MAGI) method for determining eligibility. MAGI uses IRS-based 
concepts of household and income when determining eligibility: 

 Children’s Medicaid (CM): Children eligible for this category must be under age 19, with net 
income less than or equal to 196% of the federal poverty level (FPL). Children with severe 
disabilities (CSD) are also covered under this category; 

 Expanded CM: Children eligible for this category must be under age 19 with net income 
higher than 196% FPL, but no higher than 318% FPL; 

 Pregnant Women: Pregnant women eligible for this category must have net income less than 
or equal to 196% FPL; 

 Parent/Caretaker Relative Medical Assistance (MA): Adults eligible for this category are a 
parent/caretaker relative of a dependent child, defined as a child under age 18, or under age 
19 and a full time student in secondary school (or equivalent vocational or technical training). 
The child must meet FANF deprivation requirements, and the adult’s net income must be 
less than or equal to a set standard; 

 Former Foster Care Child: Medicaid is automatically provided to former foster children, 
defined as children who were in foster care and enrolled in NH Medicaid as of age 18, as 
confirmed by DCYF, are under age 26, and are not eligible for another category of medical 
assistance;   

 Granite Advantage Health Care Program (Granite Advantage): Adults eligible for this 
category must be at least age 19 and under age 65, cannot be pregnant at the time of 
application, cannot be entitled to or enrolled in Part A or B Medicare benefits, cannot qualify 
for or be enrolled in a mandatory Medicaid coverage group, and must have net income less 
than or equal to 133% FPL; and  

 Family Planning MA: Individuals eligible for this limited coverage MA must not be pregnant, 
and must have net income less than or equal to 196% FPL. This type of assistance only 
covers family planning-related services. 

Resources are not counted in these programs. 
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NON-MAGI Categories of Medical Assistance 

Medical assistance is also offered through the following non-MAGI categories. All non-MAGI 
categories of medical assistance have a resource test: 

 State Supplement Program (SSP) Medical Assistance (MA): SSP provides medical 
assistance to certain low-income NH residents who are age 65 or older through OAA MA, 
disabled and between the ages of 18 and 64 through APTD MA, and blind regardless of age 
through ANB MA.   Resource Limit = $1,500.  

 Medicaid for Employed Adults with Disabilities (MEAD): MEAD provides medical coverage 
to disabled working adults between the ages of 18 and 64. The income and resource limits 
for the MEAD program are higher than other programs and change every year. Some MEAD 
individuals must pay a monthly premium for medical coverage. 

 Medicare Savings Program (MSP): [QMB, SLMB/SLMB135, QDWI] The MSP helps certain 
individuals with the cost of the monthly Medicare premium. The QMB program also helps 
with the co-insurance and deductibles associated with the Medicare program.  
The QMB/SLMB/SLMB135 resource limit is higher than other programs and changes every 
year. The QDWI resource limit = $4,000 (HH 1) or $6,000 (HH 2). 

 Nursing Facility (NF) Care: This program covers the cost of NF care for individuals who are 
of limited resources who meet financial eligibility requirements. NF care is also available for 
MAGI categories.   Resource Limit = $2,500.  

 Home and Community-Based Care (HCBC) and HCBC Choices for Independence (CFI): 
These programs provide assistance and services for individuals who are facing placement in 
a nursing facility or other institution, but could remain in their own home or community if they 
had some outside assistance. HCBC services are also available for MAGI categories.   
       Resource Limits for these programs vary.   

 Home Care for Children with Severe Disabilities (HC-CSD): Children eligible for these home 
based services are severely disabled, under age 19, with income that meets the NF care 
income limit.    Resource Limit = $1,000. 
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Other Assistance Offered 

 In and Out Medical Assistance: If you meet all the criteria for any medical assistance 
program, but you are over the income limits, you may still be eligible for In and Out Medicaid 
with a monthly deductible. Medicaid assistance is provided after meeting the deductible. 
Depending on the medical assistance program for which you are applying, there may be a 
resource limit. 

 Emergency Assistance (EA) Program: The EA Program helps pay for rent or utility deposits, 
fuel delivery, back rent, mortgage, or utility bills, for eligible families who are experiencing or 
threatened by homelessness, termination of a utility, or lack of heat, hot water, and/or cooking 
fuel. Families must be financially and categorically eligible for FANF cash assistance, even 
if not getting it. 

 Emergency Medicaid for Non-Citizens: If you are a non-citizen but meet all the criteria for a 
medical assistance program, Emergency Medicaid may cover some emergency services, 
including labor and delivery, regardless of your immigration status. SSNs are not needed to 
apply. Depending on the medical assistance program for which you are applying, there may 
be a resource limit. 

 Breast & Cervical Cancer Program (BCCP): Individuals eligible for this assistance, which is 
available for the course of the cancer treatment, are under the age of 65, not eligible for other 
medical assistance, and have been screened for breast & cervical cancer (BCC) by the CDC 
prevention BCC early detection program. There are no income or resource limits for this 
program. 

 

 

Proofs You May Need to Provide 

 Age and identity 

 Income 

 NH residency 

 Citizenship and SSN (only if applying for assistance) 

 Who lives in the household with you and their 
relationship to you 

Some Programs May Also Require Proof Of: 

 Resources 

 Disability or FANF 
deprivation 

 Federal tax filing status 

 Medical expenses or any income deduction 

 Residence expenses 

 Application for other benefits for which you or 
people in your household may be eligible, such 
as SSA/SSI/SSDI, child support, & VA 
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What Happens Next? 

Once we get your application, we will make a decision on your eligibility for benefits as quickly 
as possible. For the MAGI categories of medical assistance, we can determine your eligibility in 
“real time” if you have given us certain information, but it can take up to:  

 15 days for Emergency Assistance; 

 30 days for SNAP and NH Child Care Scholarship; 

 45 days for FANF cash, MAGI-categories of Medicaid, OAA and ANB cash or medical 
assistance, or MSP; and  

 90 days for APTD cash or medical assistance, NF and HCBC/HC-CSD, and MEAD. 

Once a decision is made, you will receive a Notice of Decision telling you: 

 who is eligible and what you can expect for benefits; 

 how your benefits were figured out; 

 when you will start to receive benefits; and 

 how you can file an appeal if you disagree with our decision. 
 

 

How are Benefits Delivered? 

1. Cash and SNAP (Food Stamps) 

Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) OR  
Electronic Benefits Transfer (EBT) 

Cash assistance is available through EFT or via an EBT card. Your cash grant is available to 
you at 6:00 am on the 15th and 30th of the month, even if it is a Sunday or holiday.  

If you choose to get your cash grant through EFT, your cash grant is directly deposited into your 
checking or savings account. You can use your bank’s ATM and pay no ATM transaction fee for 
most withdrawals. You can also earn interest on your money. You can also choose to get your 
cash benefit via an EBT card. EBT cards are like debit cards. SNAP benefits are always issued 
through an EBT card. 
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 SNAP benefits can only be used to buy eligible food items. Once activated, your EBT card 
can be used at any food retailer displaying a “QUEST” or “Electronic Benefit Transfer” 
sign. Your first SNAP benefits will be available through your card a few days after you have 
been found eligible. After that, your SNAP benefits will be added to your card on the 5th of 
every month at 6:00 AM, as long as you remain eligible.  

 If you choose to get your cash grant through an EBT card, you can access your benefit by 
getting cash back when making a cash purchase or at any ATM displaying the “QUEST” 
sign. Make sure that you do not use your EBT card, or cash from your EBT card, at a banned 
business, which are businesses in which greater than 50% of visible inventory is alcohol, or 
that primarily engage in body piercing, branding, or tattooing, any gaming establishment, or 
cigar, pipe, smoke, or tobacco stores/stands/shops, most marijuana dispensaries, or 
businesses in which greater than 50% of visible inventory being sold or rented is material 
considered adult-oriented entertainment per RSA 650:1,III. Using your EBT card or cash from 
your EBT card at a banned business will result in a cash penalty per RSA 167:7-b and He-
W PART 608. The first 2 ATM cash withdrawals each month are free (although the ATM you 
use may have its own fees), but an EBT-related fee will be charged for each additional ATM 
cash withdrawal made during the calendar month which exceeds the 2 free withdrawals 
allowed. This EBT-related fee is only applied if there are no ATM fees that are charged. 

 

2.  Medical Assistance 

If you are eligible for Medicaid, you will receive a permanent plastic Medicaid ID Card for each 
eligible household member. You will need to: 

 keep all cards in a safe place; 

 show the card to your doctor, hospital, or drugstore before receiving services from them; 
and 

 make sure the provider accepts payment from Medicaid, or you will have to pay the bill 
yourself. 

3.  NH Child Care Scholarship 

NH Child Care Scholarship payments are made directly to your choice of child care provider. 
The provider will need to: 

 register with the Department; 

 complete a form provided by the Department verifying they are your child’s provider; 

 fill out a weekly invoice form for each eligible child or register to bill via the web; and 

 mail the invoice to the address on the back of the form within 90 days of providing service if 
using paper billing, or electronically submit invoices if registered for web billing. 

Your District Office will provide a supply of invoice forms. Your provider will receive payment 
after this process has been fully completed. 
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How Long Can You Receive Benefits? 

As long as you continue to meet the program requirements, there is no limit to how long you can 
receive benefits for the following programs: 

 OAA, ANB, and APTD cash assistance; 

 all categories of medical assistance, including NF and HCBC/HC-CSD services; 

 SNAP; and 

 NH Child Care Scholarship. 

However, federal and state laws limit the amount of time families can receive FANF cash 
assistance to no more than 60 months. Your worker will explain this time limit on benefits to you. 
If your parents received cash assistance while you were a child, the time limit will not affect you. 
Your time limit begins when you receive benefits as an adult. 

 

What We Expect From You 

We expect you to: 

 give accurate and complete information; 

 provide proofs we need to determine your eligibility; 

 report and provide proof of any changes that might affect your benefits, as explained by your 
Family Services Specialist;  

 read all material we give you;  

 ask questions if you don’t understand something; and 

 keep all appointments. If you cannot keep an appointment, you must let us know right away. 
Failure to keep your appointment could result in lower benefits, your benefits being denied, 
or your benefits ending. 
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Nondiscrimination Statement 
 
This institution is prohibited from discriminating on the basis of race, color, national origin, disability, age, sex 
and in some cases religion or political beliefs.  
 
The U.S. Department of Agriculture also prohibits discrimination based on race, color, national origin, sex, 
religious creed, disability, age, political beliefs or reprisal or retaliation for prior civil rights activity in any 
program or activity conducted or funded by USDA. 
 
Persons with disabilities who require alternative means of communication for program information (e.g. Braille, 
large print, audiotape, American Sign Language, etc.), should contact the Agency (State or local) where they 
applied for benefits.  Individuals who are deaf, hard of hearing or have speech disabilities may contact USDA 
through the Federal Relay Service at (800) 877-8339.  Additionally, program information may be made 
available in languages other than English. 
 
To file a program complaint of discrimination, complete the USDA Program Discrimination Complaint Form, 
(AD-3027), found online at: How to File a Complaint, and at any USDA office, or write a letter addressed to 
USDA and provide in the letter all of the information requested in the form. To request a copy of the complaint 
form, call (866) 632-9992.  Submit your completed form or letter to USDA by:  
 
(1)  mail: U.S. Department of Agriculture 

Office of the Assistant Secretary for Civil Rights 
1400 Independence Avenue, SW  
Washington, D.C. 20250-9410 
 

(2)  fax: (202) 690-7442; or  
 
(3)  email: program.intake@usda.gov. 
 
For any other information dealing with Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) issues, persons 
should either contact the USDA SNAP Hotline Number at (800) 221-5689, which is also in Spanish or call the 
State Information/Hotline Numbers (click the link for a listing of hotline numbers by State); found online at: 
SNAP Hotline. 
 
To file a complaint of discrimination regarding a program receiving Federal financial assistance through the 
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), write: HHS Director, Office for Civil Rights, Room 515-
F, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, D.C. 20201 or call (202) 619-0403 (voice) or (800) 537-7697 
(TTY).  

 
This institution is an equal opportunity provider. 
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BFA SR 19-29 

http://www.ocio.usda.gov/sites/default/files/docs/2012/Complain_combined_6_8_12.pdf
http://www.ascr.usda.gov/complaint_filing_cust.html
http://www.fns.usda.gov/snap/contact_info/hotlines.htm
http://www.fns.usda.gov/snap/contact_info/hotlines.htm

