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Key Points and Recommendations: 

• Blood lead level (BLL) testing is now required by NH law for all one- and two-year old 
children residing in NH (NH RSA 130-A:5-a); the State’s Lead Paint Poisoning 
Prevention and Control law was changed in April 2018.   

• Children younger than one year or older than 2 years of age who have potential lead 
hazard exposures are also recommended to be tested for elevated BLLs. 

• All health insurance companies are now mandated to cover the cost of the blood lead 
level testing. 

• The New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services’ (NH DHHS) Child 
Medical Management Quick Guide (see attachment) recommends that any child with a 
BLL of 5 micrograms per deciliter (µg/dL) or greater (capillary or venous) has a follow-up 
blood lead level test within three to six months.  

• A parent/guardian can refuse BLL testing for their child, but providers need to inform the 
parent/guardian of the recommendation, the risks of not having a child’s BLL tested, and 
then properly document the refusal in the patient’s medical record. An opt-out form will 
be developed by NH DHHS to facilitate clinician discussions (RSA 130-A:5-c).  

• All healthcare providers who conduct capillary BLL testing and identify a child with a 
detectable BLL need to provide the parent/guardian with the attached NH DHHS 
factsheet describing the health effects of lead poisoning, the advisability of obtaining a 
confirmatory venous blood sample, and the benefits of identifying and addressing lead 
hazards (NH RSA 130-A:3-a). The factsheet has been translated into additional 
languages which can be found at: https://www.dhhs.nh.gov/dphs/bchs/clpp/parents.htm  

• Healthcare providers using any point-of-care Magellan LeadCare™ instrument for 
capillary testing are required under NH RSA 130-A:3 to report the results of BLL testing 
to the DHHS Healthy Homes and Lead Poisoning Prevention Program. BLL test results 
should be faxed within three to five business days. BLLs greater than 45 µg/dL should 
be reported immediately. Results should be faxed to 603-271-3991. 

 
Background:  
In 2012, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s Advisory Committee on Childhood 
Lead Poisoning Prevention (ACCLPP) recommended a population blood lead level (BLL) 
reference value of 5 micrograms per deciliter (µg/dL) to identify children at risk for lead exposure 
in order to provide lead education, environmental investigation, and additional medical 
monitoring (https://www.cdc.gov/nceh/lead/acclpp/final_document_030712.pdf). There is no 
safe BLL, and lead exposure can affect a child’s physical growth and development, cause 
damage to the brain and nervous system, and lead to learning and behavior problems.  
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In 2017, 652 New Hampshire children under the age of 72 months were identified with elevated 
blood lead over 5 µg/dL, this includes 106 children with a blood lead level ≥ 10 µg/dL, most of 
whom were new detections with no history or a prior elevated BLL. The NH Healthy Homes and 
Lead Poisoning Prevention Program within the NH DHHS estimates that every year about 36% 
of one-year old children and 59% of two-year old children are not tested for BLLs. Because of 
the problem of childhood lead exposure in New Hampshire, the NH DHHS worked with the NH 
legislative Childhood Lead Poisoning Prevention and Screening Commission (established in 
2015 through Senate Bill 135) to create and enact new legislation aimed at increasing 
appropriate BLL testing in young children, and to provide mechanisms to inform and educate 
families about the risks of lead exposure, and resources available to address potential 
exposures. In April 2018, NH RSA 130-A (the Lead Paint Poisoning and Control law) was 
changed as described above: http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/NHTOC/NHTOC-X-130-
A.htm.  
 
Additionally, in accordance with NH RSA 130-A:6-b, parents of children with an BLL of 3 µg/dL 
or greater will now receive a notification letter from NH DHHS Healthy Homes and Lead 
Poisoning Prevention Program informing parents about lead exposure risks, the importance of 
follow-up BLL testing, and available resources for parents/guardians. The Healthy Homes and 
Lead Poisoning Prevention Program will continue to provide nurse case management for 
children with a confirmed venous blood lead elevation greater than 10 µg/dL, which includes an 
environmental investigation for children living in a leased or rented unit. Changes to NH RSA 
130-A will gradually lower the action limit at which the State provides these services over the 
next few years. 
 
 
Additional Resources: 
NH DHHS Childhood Lead Screening and Management 
Resources: https://www.dhhs.nh.gov/dphs/bchs/clpp/medical-providers.htm  
 
For more information about using point-of-care LeadCare II® analyzers, please review this 
guide: https://www.dhhs.nh.gov/dphs/bchs/clpp/documents/poc-leadcare2-guide.pdf.  
 
 
For any questions regarding the contents of this message, please contact NH DHHS, DPHS, 
Bureau of Public Health Protection, Healthy Homes and Lead Poisoning Prevention Program at 
1-800-897-LEAD or LeadRN@dhhs.nh.gov   
 
To change your contact information in the NH Health Alert Network, contact Adnela Alic at 
603-271-7499 or Adnela.Alic@dhhs.nh.gov.  
  

http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/legislation/2015/SB0135.html
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/NHTOC/NHTOC-X-130-A.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/NHTOC/NHTOC-X-130-A.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/X/130-A/130-A-6-b.htm
https://www.dhhs.nh.gov/dphs/bchs/clpp/medical-providers.htm
https://www.dhhs.nh.gov/dphs/bchs/clpp/documents/poc-leadcare2-guide.pdf
mailto:LeadRN@dhhs.nh.gov
mailto:Adnela.Alic@dhhs.nh.gov


NH DHHS-DPHS 
NH-HAN 20190227 – NH Pediatric Blood Lead Level (BLL) Testing Requirements 

3 

Status: Actual 
Message Type: Alert 

Severity: Moderate 
Sensitivity: Not Sensitive 

Message Identifier: NH-HAN 20190227 
Delivery Time: 12 hours 

Acknowledgement: No 
Distribution Method: Email, Fax 

Distributed to: Physicians, Physician Assistants, Practice Managers, Infection Control 
Practitioners, Infectious Disease Specialists, Community Health Centers, 
Hospital CEOs, Hospital Emergency Departments, Nurses, NHHA, 
Pharmacists, Laboratory Response Network, Manchester Health 
Department, Nashua Health Department, Public Health Network, DHHS 
Outbreak Team, DPHS Investigation Team, DPHS Management Team, 
Northeast State Epidemiologists 

From: Benjamin Chan, MD, MPH – State Epidemiologist 
Originating Agency: NH Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health 

Services 

Attachments:  
Child Medical Management Quick Guide 
Lead and Children Factsheet  



 NH Department of Health & Human Services, Division of Public Health Services 

1-800-897-LEAD (5323) or LeadRN@dhhs.nh.gov

Lead Poisoning 

Quick Guide for Lead Testing & Treatment 
Child Medical Management 

Schedule For Obtaining Venous Sample 

Capillary 
Blood Lead Confirm For Venous Test Within 

<5mcg/dL 
Not Necessary unless other risk factors. 
Test children <12 mos. in 3 – 6 mos.  as  
BLL may increase with mobility. 

5-9 mcg/dL Within 3 months. 

10-19 mcg/dL Within 1 month 

20-44 mcg/dL Within in 1 week 

45-69 mcg/dL Within 48 hours 

70+ mcg/dL Immediately as an emergency test 

The higher the capillary test result, the more urgent the need 
for a confirmatory venous test 

Schedule For Venous Re-testing 

Venous Blood 
Lead 

Follow-Up and Re-testing 

< 5 mcg/dl 
Retest child at 1 yr. and 2 yr. old.       
Retest child 6 – 12 mos. if child is at high risk or 
risk changes during time frame. 

5-9 mcg/dL
Within 3 months  
*May necessitate frequent follow-up testing.

10-19 mcg/dL Every 3 months 

20-39 mcg/dL Every 1-2 months 

40-69 mcg/dL Every 1-2 weeks (even after chelation) 

70+ mcg/dL Initiate chelation and re-test within 1-2 weeks 

*Some providers may choose to repeat BLL tests within 1 month
to ensure BLL is not rising more quickly than anticipated.

Clinical Treatment Guidelines for Venous Confirmed Blood Lead Levels 

3 - 9 mcg/dL 10 - 44 mcg/dL 45 - 69 mcg/dL 70+ mcg/dL 

 Provide factsheets
to parents
(Lead & Children,
Lead & Nutrition)

 Follow-up BLL
monitoring

 Retest  infants earlier
than 3-6 months

 Test siblings for EBLL

 HHLPPP sends letter
to home, notifying
parents of EBLL

Continue management, AND: 

 Rule out iron deficiency & prescribe
iron if needed

 Neurodevelopmental monitoring &
consider referral for evaluation

 Patients with BLL of 25-44 mcg/dL
need aggressive environmental
intervention

 For BLL 25 - 44mcg/dL, CHEMET
(succimer) is NOT recommended as
there is no cognitive benefit

 HHLPPP provides nurse case
management & environmental lead
investigation

 Confirm BLL within 2 days

 Stop iron therapy prior to
chelation

 Begin chelation in consultation
with clinician experienced in lead
toxicity therapy

 Consider directly observed
therapy with CHEMET (succimer)

 Contact PEHSU at Children’s
Hospital (1-888-214-5314) for
chelation guidance and/ or follow
AAP Treatment Guidelines

 Ensure child is discharged to a lead
-free environment

EMERGENCY! 

 Confirm BLL immediately

 Hospitalize even if
asymptomatic

 Contact PEHSU at
Children’s Hospital (1-
888-347-2632) for
immediate consultation
on lead toxicity therapy

 Stop iron therapy prior
to chelation

 Ensure child is
discharged to a lead-free
environment

December 2018 



Lead Poisoning  

Quick Guide for Clinical Evaluation & Management 
Child Medical Management 

                     NH Department of Health & Human Services, Division of Public Health Services 

     1-800-897-LEAD (5323) or LeadRN@dhhs.nh.gov 

New UNIVERSAL TESTING LAW 

 Test all children at 12 mos. and  again at 24 mos. (2 tests)* 

 Test all children 3 to 6 yrs. old who haven’t been tested  

 For refugee children:  

 Test all children between 6 mos. and 16 years old upon entry 
into the US 

 Regardless of initial testing result, conduct a follow up on all 
children 6 mos. to 6 yrs. old 

*Does not apply to children who are currently or have previously 
been poisoned. 

Lead Risk Questions To Ask Parents  

of children with EBLL’s ≥ 4 mcg/dL 

 Developmental delays or learning disabilities? 

 Behavioral problems? (e.g. aggression & attention issues) 

 Excessive mouthing or pica behavior? 

 Ingestion of non-food items? 

 Living in pre-1978 housing? 

 Attending child care in pre-1978 building? 

 Recent renovations/ remodeling in pre-1978 housing        

or child care  

 Recent immigrant, refugee, or international adoption? 

 Parent occupation or hobbies have lead exposure?         

(e.g. renovations, painting, welding, fishing, target shooting, 

stain glass, jewelry making)  

 Imported ethnic spices/ powders that contain lead?      

(e.g. sindoor, surma, greta, orange shringar, asafetida, turmeric) 

 Does child have sibling or playmate that has or did have 

lead poisoning? 

Interventions to Help Limit Exposure 
Educate caregivers by providing three DHHS factsheets:                         

“Lead and Nutrition”, “Lead and Children” and “Lead Hazards“  

 Hand washing—with soap and water 

 Clean child’s toys, bottles & pacifiers often 

 Feed child Calcium, Iron & Vitamin C foods daily 

 Have barriers blocking access to lead hazards  

 Wet wipe window sill, door jams, & door frames 

 Wet mop floors and stairs once a week or more 

 Use HEPA filter vacuum to clean up dust and paint chips 

Developmental Assessment & Intervention for Children with EBLL  

 For any child with a venous BLL ≥4mcg/dL 
‒ Annual developmental surveillance and screening at ages 3, 4 and 5 years is recommended 

‒ Developmental surveillance at annual visit for all ages to identify emerging/unaddressed behavioral, cognitive, or developmental concerns  

 For any child with a venous ≥ 20 mcg/dL or persistently ≥ 15 mcg/dL with other developmental risk factors: neurodevelopmental monitoring is needed 

Action Steps 

 Long term developmental monitoring should be a component of             
the child’s management plan 

 A history of EBLL should be included in the problem list maintained           
in the child’s permanent medical record, even if BLL is reduced    

 Refer child to early intervention or child-check for developmental 
screening 

 Recommend early childhood education and stimulation programs 

 Refer to NH Division of Developmental Services for a list of local   Family-
Centered Early Supports & Services at (603)-271-5143  

Developmental Surveillance should include: 
 

 Vigilance for physical, social, emotional, academic challenges at critical 
transition points in childhood (e.g. preschool, 1st, 4th, 6th & 7th grades) 

 Vigilance for in-attention, distractibility, aggression, anti-social behavior, 
irritability, hyperactivity, low impulse control & poor emotional 
regulation 

 Refer children experiencing neurodevelopmental problems for a 
complete diagnostic medical evaluation   

 Continue to monitor development through a child’s early and middle-
school years, even if BLL is reduced  

For children of any age: if issues arise between annual visits, encourage parents to bring them to attention of the medical office and school personnel  
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Is My Child At Risk For Lead 
Poisoning? 

The only way to know if your child is 
poisoned is to get a blood lead test. It is 
recommended that children be tested 
for lead at ages one and two. Test your 
child if exposed to any of these risk 
factors:   

 Living in or visiting a home built 
before 1978 with lead hazards or 
ongoing repairs 

 Attending a daycare built before 
1978 with lead hazards or ongoing 
repairs  

 Spending time with a sibling, 
relative, or playmate with lead 
poisoning 

 Spending time with an adult who 
works with lead in a job or hobby 
(ex. fishing, painting, auto repair) 

 Eating or drinking food stored in 
glazed pottery or leaded crystal 

 Using traditional home-remedies & 
imported products (ex. Kohl, Kajal, 
Surma, Azarcon, Alarcon, Greta, Pay
-loo-ah) 

 Swallowing or mouthing toys, small 
metal charms, keys, trinkets & 
jewelry  

 Playing in contaminated soil 

      Lead Poisoning Lead Poisoning   

Children are at a Special Risk for Lead Poisoning  

Lead and Children 

NH Department of Health & Human Services, Division of Public Health ServicesNH Department of Health & Human Services, Division of Public Health Services  
11--800800--897897--LEAD (5323) or LeadRN@dhhs.nh.govLEAD (5323) or LeadRN@dhhs.nh.gov  

SYMPTOMS OF LEAD POISONING 
Most children with lead poisoning DO NOT look sick. 
NH children are to be tested at age 1 and again at age 2 yrs. 
The only way to know if your child has lead poisoning is to get tested. 
Some children might experience:  

 Stomach aches, headaches, trouble paying attention, 
developmental delays, behavior issues, problems with eating 
and sleeping and speech/language delays.  

LONG-TERM EFFECTS 
Lead can affect all parts of the body and mind 

 Poor school performance & lower test scores 
 Hearing & speech problems 
 Slowed growth & development 
 Hyperactivity & aggression problems 
 Damage to the brain, kidneys & nerves 

PROTECTING YOUR CHILD 

Remove the lead source and look out for lead hazards 
Lead poisoning occurs when children ingest or inhale lead 

 Have your home tested for lead (test soil and water too) 
 Use a HEPA vacuum and disposable rags to clean lead dust 
 Keep children away from lead paint & dust  
 Wash hands, toys & pacifiers often  
 Avoid imported foods & candies (i.e. Mexican candies) 
 Don’t allow children to mouth metal charms, keys, trinkets & 

jewelry—they may contain lead 

Provide early intervention & stimulation 
 Enroll children in early childhood education programs such as 

Head Start, child care, preschool, and play groups to stimulate 
learning 

 Read to & play games with your child 

If you live in a rental property… 
 Inform your landlord if your child has an elevated blood lead  
 Do not remove lead on your own, notify your landlord instead 
 Remember, you can NOT be evicted for having a lead poisoned 

child 
Revised December 2018 



   Lead Poisoning  

What Do Blood Lead Levels Mean for Your Child’s Health 

Lead and Children 
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Blood 
Lead Level 

(micrograms/
deciliter) 

 
Capillary 

or 
Venous 

When to Retest What can I do to help? 

<5  

C 
 

Not necessary unless other risk  factors.  

Retest children < 12 mos in 3-6 mos as BLL 

may increase with mobility. 

 

 Talk to your child’s doctor  
 Feed child foods high in Calcium, Iron & Vitamin C 
 Wash hands frequently  
 Clean floor and window sills with disposable wipes 

or wet mop 
 Look out for “Take-Home” lead and other sources  V 

5-9   
C 

Continue with above AND 
 Control known lead hazards  
 Keep up good nutrition (Calcium, Iron & Vitamin C) 
 Consider testing other children in the home  

 

Confirm  within 3 months. 

 V 

10-19  

C Confirm within 1 month  

Continue with above AND 
 Test siblings younger than 6 yrs. 
 Ensure child has proper diet  
 Follow up by NH HHLPPP will provide education, 

case management, and environmental assessment 
 Consider developmental evaluation if elevated 

blood lead levels persist  

V Retest within 3 months  

20-44  

C Confirm within 1 week  Continue with above AND 
 Remove child from lead hazards  

V Retest every 1-2 months until  <20 mcg/dL  

45 -69   

C Confirm within 48 hours 
Continue with above AND 

 Child needs immediate treatment and may need 
hospitalization 

 Chelation may be necessary 
 Ensure child returns to a lead safe environment  V 

Seek immediate medical attention and 
test weekly afterwards  

≥70   

C Confirm IMMEDIATELY Continue with above AND 
 
 TAKE CHILD TO HOSPITAL FOR TREATMENT 

 
V  Medical emergency, chelation treatment 

Any amount of lead is dangerous and can cause health and behavioral problems at all ages. A blood test is the only 
way to tell if your child has lead poisoning. All children should be tested at 1 and 2 years old. A test can be done in 
the doctor’s office with a capillary ’finger-stick’ blood sample. Depending upon test results, it may need a follow up  
test with venous blood from arm. Confirm a capillary blood lead test with a venous test based on schedule below: 
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