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REPORTING NEGLECT & ABUSE 
 

 
PUBLIC HEALTH ISSUE 
Neglect and abuse is a serious issue that health officers can help to resolve.  If you suspect a problem, use the 
form and phone numbers at the end of this chapter to report the situation.   
For adults, call 603-271-7014 to speak with the Bureau of Elderly and Adult Services (BEAS) and discuss 
assistance with any adult over the age of 18.  
For children, call 603-271-6562 to speak with the Division for Children, Youth, and Families (DCYF) 
Child Protection Services and discuss children, youth, and their families.   
 
ROLE OF THE HEALTH OFFICER 

• Know the signs of abuse or self-neglect.  
• Report any suspected abuse or self-neglect to police or NH DHHS.  
• Gather evidence of abuse or self-neglect within the limits of your authority. This could include 

gathering first-hand reports, photos, or physical evidence of unsanitary conditions.   
• Notify the property owner or landlord that any unsanitary conditions related to self-neglect need to 

be corrected in order to protect public health in your community.  In addition, you may need to 
enforce any applicable State health laws or municipal health codes.  

• Collaborate with State agencies & community partners to resolve the problem.  If a Health Officer 
makes a report to BEAS or DCYF, the Agency may ask you to accompany them on a site visit.  This 
is not always the case and is dependent on the nature of the report. 
 

LAWS AND REGULATIONS 
It is the law that you must report adult and/or child abuse if you believe it is happening.  New Hampshire 
Law mandates that any person who has reason to suspect that a person is being abused or neglected must 
make a report to BEAS or DCYF, respectively.  Adult and child abuse and neglect is addressed by the 
following two laws:   
 
RSA 161-F, 42-57 Adult Protection Law Persons 18 years old and over. 
RSA 169-C, Child Protection Act Children under 18 years old.  
 
As a health officer, part of your job is to assess conditions related to health and sanitation that may relate to 
neglect, including and not limited to: 1) rental housing standards under RSA 48-A, 2) public health nuisances 
under RSA 147, and 3) hazardous and dilapidated buildings under RSA 155-B. 
 
BACKGROUND 
Any family can encounter difficult life challenges and may need help.  Families can experience 
overwhelming frustration raising their children or taking care of their elderly, especially when they are facing 
physical, emotional or financial stress.  Although they may only want to do what is best, challenges may lead 

https://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/NHTOC/NHTOC-XII-161-F.htm
https://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/NHTOC/NHTOC-XII-169-C.htm
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to situations that can harm and endanger family members.  This guidance document is a step in protecting 
New Hampshire’s most vulnerable citizens and strengthening our state’s families.  Prevention and 
identification of child and/or adult abuse and neglect is a community responsibility that depends on the 
cooperation of all community members.  We must work together to protect our most vulnerable citizens. 
 
ADULTS - SIGNS OF NEGLECT AND ABUSE 
 
SIGNS OF SELF-NEGLECT 
• Frequent falls 
• History of fires or burns from smoking or cooking 
• Hoarding that interferes with safety 
• Inability to manage finances or pay bills 
• Noncompliance with or inability to take medication as prescribed 
• Unclean physical appearance, soiled clothing, inappropriate clothing for the weather, fecal/urine smell 
• Unsanitary conditions in the home 
• Untreated medical conditions 
• Wandering or getting lost 
 
SIGNS OF ABUSE OR NEGLECT BY OTHERS 
• Being left alone for long periods of time without supervision or assistance when it is needed.   
• Experiencing malnutrition and/or dehydration 
• Fear, anxiety or agitation around certain household members or caregivers. 
• Increasing withdrawal and isolation 
• Lack or routine medical care 
• Misusing or stealing money or possessions 
• Physical contact of a sexual nature 
• Threats or intimidation or unwanted remarks 
• Unexplained bruises, welts, or burns 
• Unexplained changes in health status. 
 
CHILDREN - SIGNS OF NEGLECT AND ABUSE 
 
SIGNS OF PHYSICAL ABUSE 
• Bruises, welts, burns that cannot be sufficiently explained 
• Injuries on places where children don't usually get hurt (the back, neck, back of legs, face) 
• Repeated injuries 
• Withdrawn, fearful or extreme behavior 
 
SIGNS OF EMOTIONAL INJURY 
• Inability to play as most children do 
• Sleep problems 
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• Antisocial behavior 
• Behavioral extremes 
• Lags in emotional and intellectual growth 
• Self destructive feelings or behavior 
 
SIGNS OF SEXUAL ABUSE 
• Difficulty walking or sitting 
• Pain or itching in the genital area 
• Torn, stained or bloody underclothing 
• Frequent complaints of stomachaches or headaches 
• Chronic depression 
• Withdrawal 
• Feeling threatened by physical contact 
• Inappropriate sex play or premature understanding of sex 
• Running away from home 
 
SIGNS OF NEGLECT 
• Chronically dirty 
• Chronic school absences 
• Dress inadequate for weather 
• Left alone at home or without supervision 
• Left in the care of siblings too young or unable to baby-sit 
• Often fatigued or falling asleep in school 
• Hunger 
• Self destructive feelings or behavior 
 
 
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS 
When Should I Report My Concern? 
If you suspect someone is being abused or neglected, state law requires that you immediately report your 
concerns to DCYF (children under 18 years old) or BEAS (adults 18 years old and older).  Proof of abuse or 
neglect is not required before reporting.  Reports can also be made directly to the police.  A sample reporting 
sheet is provided at the end of this document.  
 
What If I Am Mistaken? 
New Hampshire law states that any person who makes a report in good faith is immune from any civil or 
criminal liability (RSA 169-C and RSA 161-F).   
 
Can I Remain Anonymous?  
Yes. We understand that reporting your suspicions is a big step to take.  We also understand that you may be 
concerned about possible retaliation if they discover you reported your concerns.   
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Should I Tell the Family That I Have Called? 
It depends on the situation. It is important to be honest with families.  If you have concerns that family 
members may be abusing or neglecting someone, it is acceptable to talk with them if you feel comfortable 
doing this.  As your relationship with most of these families is professional, you should explain to them your 
obligation to report your suspicions. There are situations where you should not talk with the family. Do NOT 
inform families prior to DCYF involvement when allegations consist of physical or sexual abuse.  Informing 
the family of your report prior to an assessment may put the child at risk of harm and/or impede DCYF’s 
ability to do a thorough investigation. Please carefully review the situation and consult with DCYF prior to 
informing families.  
 
Will I Be Asked Many Questions? 
Yes, you will be asked for certain specifics on the case.  The Intake Workers at both DCYF and BEAS will 
ask questions about the situation and your knowledge of the family/person involved.  The questions are 
intended to give a clearer picture of the event and the family.  You will not be expected to know all the 
answers.  A sample set of questions are provided at the end of this chapter.  
 
Do I Need to Provide a Written Report? 
Not necessarily.  Current state law (RSA 169-C and RSA 161-F) requires that only an oral report to be made 
immediately, although the laws also allows DHHS to request a written report within 48 hours.   
 
What If a Report is Not Referred for Assessment? 
The decision whether to forward a report for further assessment is made by the Central Intake Unit in 
accordance with definitions of abuse and neglect within RSA 169-C and RSA 161-F.  Some reports do not 
meet the criteria for DCYF or BEAS involvement and may not be accepted for assessment; however they 
may be referred to other agencies.  When you call you will be told whether or not the report will be accepted 
or not.  If you disagree with the Central Intake Unit’s decision, you may contact the Central Intake Unit 
Supervisor to discuss your concerns further.   
 
Can I Call Back for Information or Updates? 
Yes, with some limitation. A family’s personal life is highly sensitive and confidential, and needs to be 
protected by DCYF and BEAS staff.  State and federal laws restrict both agencies as to the information it can 
discuss with individuals outside the immediate family.  However, if you have further information about a 
family/person that you know is involved with a Case Worker, contact the appropriate agency immediately.  
 
Does Law Enforcement Get Involved? 
Yes, in certain cases.  Current State law requires DCYF and BEAS to report allegations of sexual abuse and 
severe physical abuse to law enforcement (RSA 169-C and RSA 161-F).  
 
What Happens Next? 
When the report is forwarded to the District Office for assessment, a Case Worker will meet with the 
family/person and interview any household members.  The discussions will focus on eliminating danger, 
identifying strengths and the resources of the family, and how to partner with the family to meet the needs of 
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the person of concern.  When an assessment is completed it may result in: 1) a decision is made to close the 
assessment without action, 2) close the assessment with referrals to community services, 3) open a non-court 
case or 4) file a petition of abuse or neglect in the Court.  If abuse and/or neglect did occur DCYF and BEAS 
shall take action deemed necessary to assure the safety of the children, youth, or adult.  The Case Worker 
will collaborate with families to develop a plan and find appropriate community programs to connect them 
with to address their needs.  Community based services will be utilized to help families make positive change 
and help prevent abuse and neglect.   
 
Where Else Can a Family Get Help? 
Family Resource Centers are located in many communities throughout the state.  They offer a wide range of 
services, which can help partners learn skills to more effectively parent and prevent the situations that could 
lead to abuse and neglect.  A list of these centers can be found at https://www.nhchildrenstrust.org/.  
 
How Do I Make a Report in an Emergency? 
Call the local police if you believe someone is in immediate danger, or if you have concerns about abuse or 
neglect on weekends, holidays, or outside of work hours (8AM to 4:30 PM).  
 
ADDITIONAL INFORMATION  

For children, refer to the DHHS Division for Children, Youth and Families (DCYF) website to learn more 
about their protective programs on behalf of New Hampshire's children and youth and their families.  DCYF 
website is located at: https://www.dhhs.nh.gov/dcyf/index.htm  

For adults, refer to the DHHS Bureau of Elderly and Adult Services (BEAS) website to learn more about the 
variety of social and long-term supports to adults age 60 and older and to adults between the ages of 18 and 
60 who have a chronic illness or disability.  BEAS ’website can be located at: 
https://www.dhhs.nh.gov/dcbcs/beas/index.htm  

For more information: 
 

For children aged 0-18, call the Division for Children, Youth & Families Central Intake (DCYF) 
1-800-894-5533 24-hour hotline (in-state calls only) 

603-271-6562 24-hour hotline (out of state calls)   
https://www.dhhs.nh.gov/dcyf/cps/index.htm 

 
For adults aged 18 or older, call the Bureau of Adult & Elderly Services (BEAS) 

1-800-949-0470 (in-state calls only) 
603-271-7014 (out of state calls only) 

https://www.dhhs.nh.gov/dcbcs/beas/adultprotection.htm 
Or email us at: apscentralintake@dhhs.nh.gov 

 

https://www.nhchildrenstrust.org/
https://www.dhhs.nh.gov/dcyf/index.htm
https://www.dhhs.nh.gov/dcbcs/beas/index.htm
https://www.dhhs.nh.gov/dcyf/cps/index.htm
https://www.dhhs.nh.gov/dcbcs/beas/adultprotection.htm
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Sample Worksheet to Report Abuse or Neglect to the NH DHHS 
 
You can report cases to the two agencies listed on the prior page. When you contact DHHS, you will be 
asked for some information. You may not have all the answers, so just tell them what you know regarding: 
 

Information Needed Response 
The name(s), address, phone number, gender, and 
estimated age of the incapacitated child or adult. 
 
 

 
 
 

The name, address and phone number of a guardian or 
someone who is legally responsible for the individual. 
 

 

The full nature and extent of the individual's current 
injuries, maltreatment, or neglect and where the 
incident/situation occurred. 

 
 
 
 

Any information about previous injuries, abuse, 
maltreatment, or neglect. 
 

 

The type of living arrangement for the individual (rental 
tenant, owner, unknown, etc.). 
 

 

How great a risk you believe this may be to the 
individual (life-threatening or not). 
 

 

How you learned of this situation. 
 

 

Any action that has been taken to treat or assist the 
individual. 
 

 

The name, address, phone number, sex, and relationship 
of the person believed responsible for the abuse, neglect, 
or exploitation of the individual. 
 

 

Your name, address and phone number. 
 

 
 
 

Any other information that could be helpful. 
 
 

 

 
For adults, call 603-271-7014 to speak with the Bureau of Elderly and Adult Services (BEAS) and discuss 
assistance with any adult over the age of 18.  
For children, call 603-271-6562 to speak with the Division for Children, Youth, and Families (DCYF) 
Child Protection Services and discuss children, youth, and their families.   
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