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STATE OF NEW HAMPSHIRE
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES
DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH SERVICES
BUREAU OF INFECTIOUS DISEASE CONTROL

Jeffrey A. Meyers

Commissioner 29 HAZEN DRIVE, CONCORD, NH 03301
_ _ 603-271-4482 1-800-852-3345 Ext. 4482
Lisa M. Morris Fax: 603-271-3850 TDD Access: 1-800-735-2964
Director www.dhhs.nh.gov
August 2019

Dear NH Child Care Provider,

The New Hampshire Department of Health & Human Services (DHHS), Division of Public Health Services,
Immunization Program (NHIP) is pleased to provide you with this New Hampshire Child Care Provider’s Guide
to Immunizations.

New Hampshire law requires that all children enrolled in any school, pre-school, or childcare have certain
immunizations to protect them and those around them from vaccine preventable diseases. In addition, schools and
childcare providers must collect and review the immunization records of enrolled children and submit an annual
immunization report to the DHHS. We hope this guide will assist you through the process of collecting and reporting
immunization information.

The NHIP recognizes that children’s immunization schedules are complicated and we thank you for helping
to ensure that New Hampshire’s children are adequately protected from potentially harmful infectious diseases.

Additional immunization resources can be found at:

e NHIP’s website at https://www.dhhs.nh.gov/dphs/immunization/index.htm
e Child Care Providers web page at https://www.dhhs.nh.gov/dphs/immunization/ccproviders.htm

If you need Immunization staff assistance, or have any immunization gquestions, contact our program at 800-
852-3345, x 4482 (in NH) or 603-271-4482.

Sincerely,

Immunization Program Staff

The Department of Health and Human Services’ Mission is to join communities and families
in providing opportunities for citizens to achieve health and independence.

NH Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health Services, Inmunization Program 2
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REQUIREMENTS AND RECOMMENDATIONS

IMMUNIZATION MINIMUM DOSE REQUIREMENTS* FOR CHILD CARE
(2 MONTHS TO SCHOOL ENTRY)

e DTaP - Diphtheria, Tetanus & Pertussis vaccine
4 or more doses - given at age 2 months, 4 months, 6 months, 15-18 months
A booster dose, usually given at 4-6 years, is required for Kindergarten/1%t Grade entry.

e Hep B - Hepatitis B vaccine
3 doses — given at birth, age 1-2 months, 6-18 months

e |IPV - Polio
3 or more doses — given at age 2 months, 4 months, 6-18 months
A booster dose, usually given at 4-6 years, is required for Kindergarten/1t Grade entry.

e Hib - Haemophilus influenzae type b vaccine
4 doses — given at age 2 months, 4 months, 6 months, 12-15 months
Some children may need less than 4 doses depending on the when the series was started. For
unvaccinated children age 15 months and older, only 1 dose is required. For unvaccinated children
over age 5, Hib is not required.

¢ MMR - Measles, Mumps, & Rubella vaccine
at least 1 dose — given at age 12-15 months
A second dose, usually given at 4-6 years is required for Kindergarten/1%t Grade entry.

e VAR - Varicella or chickenpox vaccine
at least 1 dose — given at age 12-15 month
A second dose, usually given at 4-6 years, is required for Kindergarten/1%t Grade entry.
A laboratory test to confirm immunity is acceptable.

For additional Immunization Resources for Child Care Providers:
https://www.dhhs.nh.gov/dphs/immunization/index.htm

*New Hampshire RSA 141-C:20 http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html|/NHTOC/NHTOC-X-141-C.htm

NH Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health Services, Inmunization Program
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VACCINES THAT ARE RECOMMENDED,
BUT NOT REQUIRED, FOR CHILD CARE

e Influenza (flu) vaccine
1 dose every year, for all persons age 6 months and older
(2 doses the first year the child receives influenza vaccine, if ages 6 months - 8 years)

e Hepatitis A vaccine (Hep A)
2 doses — given at age 12 months, with a booster at 18 months

e Pneumococcal vaccine (PCV13)
4 doses — given at age 2 months, 4 months, 6 months, 12-15 months

e Rotavirus (RV)
3 doses — given at age 2 months, 4 months, 6 months (Rotateq)
OR
2 doses — given at age 2 months, 4 months (Rotarix)

VACCINES THAT ARE RECOMMENDED FOR CHILD CARE WORKERS

Anyone who works with children, especially in childcare centers, is at high risk of coming into contact with a
number of bacteria or viruses. Therefore, childcare workers should be up to date on vaccines including measles-
mumps-rubella (MMR), tetanus-diphtheria-pertussis (Tdap) or tetanus-diphtheria (Td), varicella (chicken pox),
influenza (flu), and hepatitis B. A single dose of Tdap is especially important for anyone caring for young children.
This will help protect infants and young children who are too young to be fully vaccinated and who are at
increased risk of complications and death from pertussis infections (whooping cough).

Child Care Workers who have not previously had the hepatitis A vaccine may be recommended to get the
vaccine, or treatment, if hepatitis A cases are diagnosed in their center. Hepatitis A is an acute liver disease that
results from infection with the Hepatitis A virus. Symptoms can be absent or mild (especially in young children)
to more severe. Good personal hygiene and proper sanitation can help prevent the spread of hepatitis A.

NH Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health Services, Inmunization Program 4
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RECORD REVIEW: THE BASIC PROCEDURES

1. Obtain the child’s personal immunization record.

New Hampshire law requires that parents provide their child’s immunization record to the childcare or
school. The immunization record is usually given to parents by a child’s health care provider and it must
list the name of the individual immunization and the complete date (mm/dd/yyyy) that the
immunization was administered.

Complete the New Hampshire Immunization Tracking Tool for each child (optional).

NHIP created this tool to help you keep track of immunizations for each child in your care (Appendix A).
It is a simple checklist that may be helpful for completing the annual immunization report, but it is not
required. Please do not send these or other individual child records to the NHIP.

Check to be sure that the child’s recorded immunizations match those listed on the schedule below.
The immunization requirements listed below can be used to check each child’s immunization record. All
children enrolled in your facility must be up-to-date with the required immunizations for their age.
Parents should provide the child’s updated immunization record to you at least annually (more often if
needed, especially for children under age 18 months).

Child’s current age Child should have received at least:

1 dose of DTaP, Polio, and Hib

3-4 months 2 doses of Hep B

5-6 months 2 doses of DTaP, Polio, Hib, and HepB
3 doses of DTaP and Hib

7-15 months

2 doses of Polio and Hep B

16-23 months

3 doses of DTaP, Polio, Hib, and Hep B
1 dose of Varicella and MMR

4 doses of DTaP and Hib*

24 months - 3 doses of Polio and HepB

1* day of KG 1 dose of Varicella and MMR
Hib: Not required for children age 5 and older*
4-5 doses of DTaP**

Kindergarten 3-4 doses of Polio**

3 doses of HepB
2 doses of Varicella and MMR

* Some children who start the Hib vaccine series late may need fewer than 4 doses; Hib is not required for
unvaccinated children over age 5 (call NHIP if questions).

** For Kindergarten: 4-5 doses of DTaP and 3- 4 doses of Polio with the last dose on or after the 4" birthday and
at least 6 months after the previous dose.

Note: the chart above lists the minimum dose requirements for reporting, allowing for appointment scheduling, record

review, and the range of ages assessed. However, the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP) has

recommendations for the optimum age and spacing for all vaccines to provide the best protection for all children. For

the current ACIP schedule for all childhood vaccines, see: https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/parents/downloads/parent-

ver-sch-0-6yrs.pdf

NH Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health Services, Inmunization Program 5


https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/parents/downloads/parent-ver-sch-0-6yrs.pdf
https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/parents/downloads/parent-ver-sch-0-6yrs.pdf

New Hampshire Childcare Provider’s Guide to Immunizations 2019

How do | read the record?

Determine the age of the child at the time of the record review, and then use the chart above to
determine which age group the child is in.

Review the “Immunizations required” list and you will see the number of doses and type of vaccines
required for that age.

Count the number of doses on the immunization record to make sure the child has the required number
of doses of vaccines shown on the chart (e.g. 2 doses of DTaP, 2 doses of polio, 2 doses of Hib, and 2
doses of Hep B if the child is age 5-6 months old). Note: Haemophilus influenzae type b (Hib) is a special
case. If a child started late with this vaccine, s/he may need fewer doses. Call the NHIP if you have
questions.

If a child has been infected with varicella (chicken pox), then he/she does not need to be vaccinated. In
these cases, there must be a laboratory test to confirm immunity to the disease.

Because each vaccine can be in combination with others and because they may have different brand
names, please refer to the brand name list (Appendix B) if you need help when reviewing an
immunization record.

Special Circumstances

Some parents choose to follow a delayed or alternative schedule. This is not recommended because it
puts children (and the people around them) at unnecessary risk for vaccine preventable diseases. One
of the reasons parents choose an alternate schedule is the false belief that too many vaccines overwhelm
the immune system and may lead to chronic health problems. If a parent chooses a delayed scheduled,
the child may be conditionally enrolled if they meet the definition (see # 4 below). If they have not had
at least one of every vaccine required for their age group, they should not be attending childcare.

Any children who are not fully immunized should see their health care provider. If they do not have a
health care provider, refer them to a local community health center or public health department.
NHIP provides all recommended childhood vaccines at no cost to all NH children through the age of 18,
by providing the vaccine at no cost to participating NH health care providers. If a family does not have a
health care provider and/or health insurance, they should be referred to the DHHS Medicaid Office
(https://www.dhhs.nh.gov/dfa/apply.htm or call 800-852-3345, x 9700) or to a local community health
center (Appendix G or go to: https://bistatepca.org/About-Bi-State/health-care-resources )

By law, children must be fully immunized before they can be enrolled in a NH school or licensed
childcare center. However, a child may be conditionally enrolled if:

e there is documentation of at least one dose of each required vaccine (in a series); and

e thereis an appointment for the next due dose(s).

Admit only those children who: (a) have met all the immunization requirements; or (b) have at least
one of each required immunization (of a series) AND an appointment for the next dose; or (c) have a
medical or religious exemption on file.

NH Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health Services, Inmunization Program 6
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New Hampshire law allows for 2 types of exemptions:

¢ Maedical Exemption - Documentation from child’s doctor that s/he is unable to receive a vaccine for
medical reasons.

e Religious Exemption - Requires a notarized form (Appendix I) from the parent stating their objection
to vaccines for religious reasons.

In the event of a disease outbreak, any child who is not fully immunized may be excluded from childcare
if recommended by the NH Department of Health & Human Services (DHHS). For questions in the event
of a disease outbreak, call the Bureau of Infectious Disease Control at 800-852-3345, x 4496 (in NH) or
603-271-4496.

Call the Bureau of Infectious Disease Control if you suspect any one of the reportable diseases listed in
Appendix K.

NH Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health Services, Inmunization Program 7
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ANNUAL CHILD CARE IMMUNIZATION REPORT

1. When do | need to complete the report?

NH state statute (RSA 141-C:20-e) states "Schools and child care agencies, whether public or private,
shall make an annual report to the Commissioner relative to the status of immunization of all enrolled
students.” The NH Child Care Licensing Bureau also references this law in their administrative rules. The
report needs to be completed by November 15t of each year.

The Annual Child Care Immunization Report is sent to all licensed childcare agencies in October of each
year. The annual report will be sent electronically if the NHIP has a valid email address for the childcare.
If not, a paper form will be mailed. Please notify the NHIP at any time if the childcare center obtains a
new email address.

If you have not received a Child Care Immunization report by late October, contact the NHIP at 603-271-
4482,

2. How do | complete the report?

a. If you have internet access, you may submit your report electronically. You will receive instructions in
October of each year. You may also request a paper form by calling NHIP at 603-271-4482 or download
a report from our website.
b. Each childcare agency with a license number must complete an annual report. If you have more than
one license number, you must complete a separate report for each.
c. When completing the form, whether electronically or on paper, please be sure to:
e complete all information and read the instructions for each question;
e do not submit the child’s individual immunization records;
e If you receive a report for more than one location, do not combine numbers, but
complete an annual report for each licensed location;
e submit only one report per license per year (additional vaccines will be reported the
following year), and
e return reports by NOVEMBER 15th.
The annual report may be submitted electronically, by fax, or by mail. Electronic submission is preferred.
Failure to submit the Annual Child Care Immunization Report per RSA 141-C:20-e will be reported to the
Commissioner of the NH Department of Health and Human Services.
f.  Remember to count children, not doses on the report. You will need to count doses to determine if the
child is up to date, BUT you will report numbers of children, not doses.

A sample of the Annual Child Care Immunization Report can be found in Appendix H.

NH Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health Services, Inmunization Program 8
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TIPS

M Develop a system to identify when children’s vaccines are needed.
M Keep a quick reference guide handy, with the number of doses for each vaccine by age.

M Remind families when a child is due for vaccines. Use a simple template letter (see Appendix F) or
email.

M Ask the parent/guardian for an updated immunization record during enrollment and at least
annually (or any time their child receives a vaccine).

M Keep your records up to date! Review records quarterly, especially if you care for children under
age 2.

As a childcare provider, you play a key role in the growth, development, and well-being of
children. You help protect children, their families, and the community from vaccine preventable
diseases when you record, remind, and report.

Thank you for all you do!

Community Immunity helps not only your students, but everyone!

Immunized
Bus Driver

Immunized
Grandpa

Cannot be
immunized

Immunized
Sister
Immunized ﬂ’k\- : ¢

Brother Lo

\ e _ |
m.:” -:\-\-$

NH Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health Services, Inmunization Program 9



New Hampshire Childcare Provider’s Guide to Immunizations 2019

APPENDIX A

IMMUNIZATION TRACKING TOOL

LISE THIS FORM TO KEEP TRACK OF A CHILD'S IMMUNIZATION DATES

Review records at enrollment and at least annually

CHILDS MAME: DATE OF ENROLLMENT
BirTH 2 PACNTH 4 PACNTH 6 MONTH 12-14 mo 15-18 mo 4-6 YR
Date DATE DATE DATE DATE DATE DATE
HepB 1 HepB 2
Dare DiaTE
DTaP 1 DTaP 2 DTaP 3 DTaF 4 4 DTaf5
DuaTe DuaTe DaTE DuTE DaTE
Polio 1 Polio 2 Polio 3 jﬁ? Polio 4
Duame DaTE DaTE DaTE
Hib 1 Hib 2 Hib 3 Hib 4*
Dame Duse DiaTs Date
PCV1 PCV 2 PCV 3 PCV 4
DaTE DaTE DaTE DTE
ROTA1 ROTAZ ROTA 3
DsTe DaTE DaTE
> ¢ MMR 1 MMR 2
Required for enrollment in child care ﬁ‘i’
DTE DaTE
* Recommended at age 4-5; required for school/kindergarten entry
E: %
*sometimes only 3 doses of Hib are given, but the final or booster dose VAR i VAR 2
should be given at age 12 to 15 months. Date DaTE
**If a child has had varicella (chicken pox), 5/he will not need the vaccine, but
HepA 1 Hepa 2
the child’s doctor must provide laboratory proof of immunity.
DTE DaTE

EVERY FALL: INFLUENZA WVACCINE-6 MONTHS & OLDER

DATE DATE DATE DATE DATE DATE

NH Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health Services, Inmunization Program
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APPENDIX B

BRAND NAMES FOR VACCINES

For use as a reference when reviewing immunization records

Brand Name Vaccine(s)/Abbreviation

ActHIB® Haemophilus influenzae type b (Hib)

Adacel® Tetanus, Diphtheria, Pertussis (Tdap)

Boostrix® Tetanus, Diphtheria, Pertussis (Tdap)

Comvax® Haemophilus influenzae type b (Hib) & Hepatitis B
(HepB)

Daptacel® Diphtheria, Tetanus, Pertussis (DTaP)

DT Diphtheria, Tetanus (DT)

Engerix B® Hepatitis B (HepB)

Hiberix® Haemophilus influenzae type b (Hib)

HIbTITER® Haemophilus influenzae type b (Hib)

Infanrix® Diphtheria, Tetanus, Pertussis (DTaP)

lpol® Polio (IPV)

Kinrix® Diphtheria, Tetanus, Pertussis (DTaP) & Polio (IPV)

M-M-R 1l Measles, Mumps, Rubella (MMR)

Pediarix® Diphtheria, Tetanus, Pertussis (DTaP), Polio (IPV), &
Hepatitis B (HepB)

PedvaxHIB®* Haemophilus influenzae type b (Hib)

Pentacel® Diphtheria, Tetanus, Pertussis (DTaP), Polio (IPV), &
Haemophilus influenzae type b (Hib)

ProQuad® Measles, Mumps, Rubella & Varicella (MMRYV)

Quadracel® Diphtheria, Tetanus, Pertussis (DTaP) & Polio (IPV)

RecombivaxHB® Hepatitis B (HepB)

Tripedia® Diphtheria, Tetanus, Pertussis (DTaP)

Varivax® Varicella (Chicken Pox, VAR)

See https://www.cdc.qov/vaccines/terms/usvaccines.html for other vaccine brand names.

NH Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health Services, Inmunization Program
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APPENDIX C

SCHOOL AND CHILD CARE IMMUNIZATION RESOURCES

NH Child Care Providers Immunization Resource Page

e Current Requirements and NH Child Care Provider Guide to Immunizations
e Annual Report From & Tracking Tool
e Exemption Form

e Fun & Educational Activities, Posters

NH Administrative Rules/Laws

e |Immunizations in School & Child Care - See section C-20 (a-e)
www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/X/141-C/141-C-mrg.htm
e Immunization Requirements & Documentation — See section 301.13-301. 15

http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rules/state agencies/he-p300.html

e Exemptions
www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/X/141-C/141-C-20-c.htm
e Child Care Licensing Rules - see page 57: Child Health Requirements and

Communicable Disease https://www.dhhs.nh.gov/oos/cclu/documents/he-
c4002.pdf

NH Immunization Program Home Page

NH Immunization Program Parents Resources

NH Schools Immunization Resource Page

Finding Credible Vaccine Information on the Web

Seasonal Influenza

NH Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health Services, Immunization Program 12
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APPENDIX D
INFO FOR PARENTS: IMMUNIZATIONS REQUIRED FOR CHILD CARE

Protect your child’s health ... and the health of your family and your community!

Infectious diseases like measles, pertussis (whooping cough) and mumps can spread quickly among babies and
children who haven’t had their shots. These diseases can also spread to your home and community. That’s why
it is so important to vaccinate all children according to the recommended schedule. New Hampshire law (RSA
141-C:20 http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/NHTOC/NHTOC-X-141-C.htm) requires that all babies and
children are vaccinated before entering a licensed or registered child care program.

Vaccines are safe and effective.

Children who are fully vaccinated by age 2 are protected against 14 preventable diseases. Vaccinated children, in
turn, protect others around them. When too many people are not vaccinated, life-threatening diseases like
whooping cough can spread throughout a community. Getting immunity from the vaccine is far safer than actually
getting the disease. Young children are exposed to many more antigens (what creates an immune response) in 1
day than they are to all the vaccines given before school entry. Vaccines do not cause autism.

How do | get my child’s vaccination record?

Your health care provider should have an up-to-date copy of your child’s record. S/he may be able to fax or mail
it directly to your child care provider. All of your child’s vaccines should be recorded by your health care provider,
but it is also helpful to keep a copy for your own records.

If you have some, but not all, of your child’s vaccination record, your child may be enrolled in child care as long as
thereis arecord of at least one dose of each required vaccine. However, you will need to get the remaining records
or make an appointment with your doctor to complete your child’s vaccinations.

When will | have to give records to my child care provider?

You will have to give immunization records before enroliment and whenever your child care provider requests it,
at least annually. You should provide updated records to your child care whenever your child receives additional
vaccines.

What if my child cannot be vaccinated?

If your child cannot be vaccinated due to medical reasons, your child may be exempt from receiving that vaccine.
To receive a medical exemption, you must get a signed note from your child’s doctor that certifies that a particular
immunization may be detrimental to your child's health.

A religious exemption can be granted if your religion prohibits immunizations. You will need to complete a
notarized form (available at: http://www.dhhs.nh.gov/dphs/immunization/exemptions.htm) stating that your

child has not been immunized because of religious beliefs. The form needs to be submitted to your child care
provider.

NH Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health Services, Inmunization Program 13
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Be aware that children with a medical or religious exemption may not be allowed to attend child care during a
disease outbreak.

Is there a recommended schedule for children’s vaccination?

Yes, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) develops a recommended vaccination schedule for
children. Following this standard schedule gives your child the best protection at the most appropriate time.
Delaying vaccines or following a different schedule is not safe because it puts your child and the people around
him/her at unnecessary risk of disease. You can find the current schedule on the CDC website:
http://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/parents/downloads/parent-ver-sch-0-6yrs.pdf

Ask your doctor to help you keep track of your child’s vaccinations.

Which immunizations are required for entry into child care?

Child’s current age Child should have received at least:

1 dose of DTaP, Polio, and Hib

2 doses of Hep B

5-6 months 2 doses of DTaP, Polio, Hib, and HepB

3 doses of DTaP and Hib

2 doses of Polio and Hep B

3 doses of DTaP, Polio, Hib, and Hep B

1 dose of Varicella and MMR

4 doses of DTaP and Hib*

3 doses of Polio and HepB

ekt 1 dose of Varicella and MMR

Hib* (not required for children age 5 and older)

4-5 doses of DTaP**

Kindergarten 3-4 doses of Polio**

3 doses of HepB

2 doses of Varicella and MMR

* Some children who start the Hib vaccine series late may need fewer than 4 doses; Hib is not required for
unvaccinated children over age 5 (call NHIP if questions).

** For Kindergarten: 4-5 doses of DTaP and 3- 4 doses of Polio with the last dose on or after the 4" birthday nad
at least 6 months after the previous dose.

3-4 months

7-15 months

16-23 months

24 months -

Where can | get more information, forms, resources, and materials?

Go to the NH Immunization Program (NHIP) website:
http://www.dhhs.nh.gov/dphs/immunization/ccproviders.htm

You may also contact the NHIP at 800-852-3345, x 4482 (toll free in NH) or at 603-271-4482.

NH Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health Services, Inmunization Program 14


http://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/parents/downloads/parent-ver-sch-0-6yrs.pdf
http://www.dhhs.nh.gov/dphs/immunization/ccproviders.htm

New Hampshire Childcare Provider’s Guide to Immunizations 2019

APPENDIX E

IMMUNIZATION RESOURCES FOR PARENTS
For parents of young children:

Parent’s Guide to Childhood Immunizations: quick read on the childhood diseases and the
vaccines that prevent them.
https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/parents/tools/parents-guide/index.html

How to Hold Your Child During Vaccinations
https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/parents/visit/holds-factsheet.pdf

Tips For A Less Stressful Shot Visit
https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/parents/tools/tips-factsheet.pdf

After the Shots: What to do if your child has discomfort
http://www.immunize.org/catg.d/p4014.pdf

Common Questions Parents Ask About Infant Immunizations
https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/parents/FAQs.html

Understanding Thimerosal, Mercury and Vaccine Safety

https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/hcp/patient-ed/conversations/downloads/vacsafe-thimerosal-

color-office.pdf

For parents of preteens and teens:

Which Vaccines Do Preteens and Teens Need and When?
https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/parents/downloads/PL-dis-preteens-parents.pdf

Flu Vaccine for Preteens and Teens
https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/parents/diseases/flu.html

HPV Vaccine for Preteens and Teens
https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/parents/diseases/hpv-basics-color.pdf

NH Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health Services, Inmunization Program
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Resources for all:

Immunization Schedules
https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/schedules/parents-adults/resources-parents.html

Evaluating Information on the Web
https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/vac-gen/evalwebs.htm

Vaccine Preventable Disease Fact Sheets
https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/hcp/conversations/prevent-diseases/index.html

Vaccine Information Statements (VIS): info on benefits and risks of each vaccine
http://www.immunize.org/vis/

https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/hcp/vis/index.html

Vaccine Adverse Event Reporting System (VAERS), a National Program for monitoring vaccine
safety
https://www.cdc.gov/vaccinesafety/pdf/vaers factsheetl.pdf

If you choose not to vaccinate your child, understand the risk and responsibilities
https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/hcp/conversations/downloads/not-vacc-risks-color-office.pdf

What if you don’t immunize your child?
http://www.immunize.org/catg.d/p4017.pdf

NH Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health Services, Inmunization Program
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APPENDIX F
SAMPLE LETTER TO PARENT OF CHILD WHO NEEDS VACCINES

Child’s Name: Date of Birth:

Our records show that your child may not be immunized as required by New Hampshire law. See the chart
below for vaccines that are required for childcare in New Hampshire. The dose(s) circled are the vaccines your
child needs.

Child’s current age Child should have received at least:

1 dose of DTaP, Polio, and Hib

2 doses of Hep B

5-6 months 2 doses of DTaP, Polio, Hib, and HepB

3 doses of DTaP and Hib

2 doses of Polio and Hep B

3 doses of DTaP, Polio, Hib, and Hep B

1 dose of Varicella and MMR

4 doses of DTaP and Hib*

3 doses of Polio and HepB

1% day of KG 1 dose of Varicella and MMR

4-5 doses of DTaP**

3-4 doses of Polio**

3 doses of HepB

2 doses of Varicella and MMR

* Some children who start the Hib vaccine series late may need fewer than 4 doses; Hib is not required for
unvaccinated children over age 5 (call NHIP if questions).

** For KG/1% grade school entry: 4-5 doses of DTaP, 3-4 doses of Polio, and 2 doses each of Varicella and MMR
are required.

3-4 months

7-15 months

16-23 months

24 months -

Kindergarten

Check one of the boxes below and return to the childcare by (date). Your child may be excluded
from childcare if appropriate documentation is not received.

OMy child has an appointment on (date) to receive the necessary vaccines and | will submit an

updated immunization record to my child care provider.

My child has already received the vaccine(s) indicated & | have attached the updated immunization record to

my child care provider.

OMy child has a medical or religious exemption to the vaccine(s) indicated and | have provided the appropriate

documentation to my child care provider.

Thank you for helping us to keep your children and the community free of vaccine-preventable diseases!
Sincerely,
[CHILD CARE PROVIDER NAME]

NH Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health Services, Immunization Program 17
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APPENDIX G

Community Health Centers in NH

Ammonoosuc Community Health Services, Inc.
Franconia, Littleton, Warren, Whitefield, Woodsville, (603) 444-2464, https://ammonoosuc.org/

Amoskeag Health (formerly Manchester Community Health Center)
Manchester, (603) 626-9500, https://www.amoskeaghealth.org/

Charlestown Health Center
Charlestown, 603-826-5711 https://springfieldmed.org/charlestown-health-center/

Coos County Family Health Services, Inc.
Berlin, Gorham, (603) 752-2040., https://www.coosfamilyhealth.org/

Greater Seacoast Community Health:

e Families First Health and Support Center, Portsmouth, (603) 422-8208,
https://www.familiesfirstseacoast.org/
e Goodwin Community Health, Somersworth, (603) 749-2346 , https://goodwinch.org/

Harbor Care Health and Wellness Center, A Program of Harbor Homes (FQHC Homeless Program)
Nashua, (603) 821-2830, http://harborhomes.org/harbor-care-health-and-wellness-center/

Health Care for the Homeless Program (FQHC Homeless Program)
Manchester, (603) 663-8716, https://www.catholicmedicalcenter.org/care-and-treatment/community-

health-and-outreach/health-care-for-the-homeless

HealthFirst Family Care Center
Franklin, Laconia, (603) 934-1464, http://healthfirstfamily.org/

Indian Stream Health Center
Colebrook, (603) 237-8336, https://www.indianstream.org/

Lamprey Health Care
Nashua, Newmarket, Raymond, (603) 659-3106, https://www.lampreyhealth.org/

Mid-State Health Center
Bristol, Plymouth, (603) 536-4000, https://www.midstatehealth.org/

NH Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health Services, Inmunization Program 18
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North Country Health Consortium
Littleton, (603) 259-3700, https://www.nchcnh.org/

Planned Parenthood of Northern New England
Claremont, Derry, Exeter, Keene, Manchester, W. Lebanon, (800) 230-7256,
https://www.plannedparenthood.org/health-center

Weeks Medical Center
Groveton, Lancaster, N. Stratford, Whitefield, (603) 788-4911, https://weeksmedical.org/

White Mountain Community Health Center
Conway, (603) 447-8900, https://www.whitemountainhealth.org/

NH Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health Services, Inmunization Program
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NH Department of Health & Human Services New Hampshirs
Division of Public Health Services — NH Immunization Program ' pmmunization
SAMPLE Annual Child Care Immunization Report

Vaccinare far Life!

SECTIONA  ***PLEASE PRINT CLEARLY***

1. Child Care Center Name: 6. PHYSICAL Ad
LAST FOUR DIGITS of child care license: Street:

3. If you received this report in error, please CHECK THE REASON(s) below,

STOP HERE, and SUBMIT the REPORT.

O Siteis closed.
O All children at this site will be covered in the School Immunization

Report.

O Other. Please specify
4. Director’s Name:

Preschool O Day Care Nursery

indergarten O Family Group O After School Program
ead Start O Group Home O Group Child Day Care
her. Please Specify

mber of children: (DO NOT COUNT children who
school - they will be counted in the school immunization

Director’s Phone:

Director’s Email:

5. Name of Person Completing report:

Phone: Email:

COMPLETE SECTION B on page 2.

Remember:

e Count children (NOT doses).
e Complete all information and read
e Do not submit the child’s individual i
e Ifyoureceivear
e |Ifyouneedto
e For paper repo
e Failure to submit

Human Services.
e The total number of children not enrol

in the report table). Do not count childre
e Return reports by NOVEMBER 15, 2018

NH Immunizati

bine'numbers; complete a report for each site.

ation Program at 603-271-4482.

OGRAM, 29 HAZEN DR., CONCORD, NH 03301 OR fax to (603) 271-3850

ion report per RSA 141-C:20-e will be reported to the Commissioner of the Department of Health and

o attend school (they will be counted in the Annual NH School Immunization Report).

ram (603) 271-4482 — https://www.dhhs.nh.gov/dphs/immunization/index.htm
Like us on Facebook! www.facebook.com/VaccinateNH
Page 1 0of 2

(Question 9) should be the same as the total of the children in each age group (the sum of the 1 column


https://www.dhhs.nh.gov/dphs/immunization/index.htm
http://www.facebook.com/VaccinateNH

APPENDIXH =

i // N —
NH Department of Health & Human Services New Hampshirs:
Division of Public Health Services — NH Immunization Program pmmunization
Yacclnate for Lifel

SAMPLE Annual Child Care Immunization Report

SECTION B
Record the NUMBER OF CHILDREN (NOT the number of doses) in each age group who are up-to-date for each vaccine listed.

Complete each box as labeled, with the NUMBER OF CHILDREN in each age group who are up to date for each vacciné€'(not the number of vaccines). Children are
required to be up to date OR have an exemption OR be conditionally enrolled - see definitions below. Use the table on page 3 to determine if a child has had all the
required immunizations for his/her age.

TOTAL Number:
number Number Number Number Number Number of CHILDREN Number Number Number
of children of CHILDREN | of CHILDREN | of CHILDREN | of CHIEDRENy, of CHILDREN up-to-date of CHILDREN | of CHILDREN | of CHILDREN
If child in each age up-to-date up-to-date up-to-date up-to-date up-to-date for: Medical Religious Conditional
is age: group for: DTaP for: Polio for: HepB for: Hib for: MMR Varicella Exempt* Exempt* Enrolled*
3-4 months
5-6 months
7-15 months
16-23 months
24 months
- 1st day of
KG
Kindergarten
(if you
provide KG
program)

*Definitions: ConditionallERrollment *»Child‘has had at least 1 of each required vaccine AND an appointment for the next dose of the series.
¢ Medical Exemption - Documentation from'child’s doctor that the child is unable to receive a vaccine for medical reasons.
¢ Religious Exemption - Notarized form from parent stating their objection to vaccine(s) for religious reasons.

NH Immunization Program (603) 271-4482 — https://www.dhhs.nh.gov/dphs/immunization/index.htm
Like us on Facebook! www.facebook.com/VaccinateNH
Page 2 of 2
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STATE OF NEW HAMPSHIRE
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

Jeffrey A. Meyers

Commissioner DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH SERVICES
Lisa M. Morris BUREAU OF INFECTIOUS DISEASE CONTROL
Director

29 HAZEN DRIVE, CONCORD, NH 03301
603-271-4482 1-800-852-3345 Ext. 4482
Fax: 603-271-3850 TDD Access: 1-800-735-2964
www.dhhs.nh.gov

CERTIFICATE OF RELIGIOUS EXEMPTION

STUDENT NAME

BIRTH DATE

ADDRESS

The administration of immunizing agents conflicts with the religious beliefs of the parent or legal
guardian of the student listed above. | understand that in the event of an outbreak of vaccine-preventable
disease in my child’s school or childcare facility, the State Health Director may exclude my child from the
school or childcare facility, for his own protection. This exclusion will last until an incubation period from
the last identified case of the communicable disease has passed.

Signature of parent or legal guardian

Date

I hereby affirm that this affidavit was signed in my presence on this day of

Notary Public Seal

Notary Public/Justice of the Peace Signature

The Department of Health and Human Services’ Mission is to join communities and families
in providing opportunities for citizens to achieve health and independence.

22



NH SIMPLIFIED IMMUNIZATION SCHEDULE

(BIRTH - 18 YEARS)

ANNUAL FLU VACCINE FOR EVERYONE 6 MONTHS AND OLDER
6 12-15 11-12
MONTH MONTH YEARS

Hep B1 & jtena Hep B2 fromdose 2 and > 24 wks of age Hep B3

16
YEARS

4 weeks
Minimum
Interval MenB*
6 months
= aaE—— =
- AN Potio2 NN Polio3 Poliod
inimum inimum inimum
age 6 weeks g=————= Interval Interval g apE— age 4years HPV1 6-I;I2I21\o/n%s L":e\!k:s;
4 weeks 4 weeks . H | b4 e | from dose 2
Hi b3 Minimum age and 6 months
Minimum © 2lns from dose 1
Interval
8 weeks PCV4
PCV1 PCV2 PCV3 Minimum age
12 months Only needed:
- If started series at 2 15 years OR
Doﬁ){s]t-art RV2 RV3 g\ﬁi'::; - If interval between dose 1 & 2 is <5 months OR
after 14 weeks, hg‘;s; fr?g:]'::;tye with GSK - Forimmunocompromised patients
6 days 0days product
minimum HEP A2
1 Intenal minimum age
6months 18 months
Minimum age
12 months

_ Childcare and school
mandated requirements

New Hampshire
Immunization
Program
Vaccinate for Life!

NH DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES
29 HAZEN DRIVE, CONCORD, NH 03301
*The MenB vaccine series may be administered to adolescents and

PHONE (603) 271-4028 | FAX (603) 271-3850

young adults aged 16-23 years (NHIP provides for 16-18 years).
(*Category B recommendations are made for individual clinical
decision making.)

VAR2

See current CDC recommended schedule for
children/adolescents for additional information. 23
Last Update 3/2017.



State of New Hampshire
Reportable Infectious Diseases

Acute Flaccid Myelitis

Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome (AIDS)

Anaplasmosis [Anaplasma Phagocytophilum]

Anthrax [Bacillus anthracis]*

Arboviral infection, including EEE, WNV, Dengue, Powassan, Zika*

Babesiosis [Babesia microti]

Botulism [ Clostridum botulinum]*

Brucellosis [Brucella abortus]*

Campylobacteriosis [ Campylobacter species]

Carbapenem-resistant enterobacteriaceae

Chlamydial infection [Chlamydia trachomatis]

Cholera [ Vibrio cholerae] *

Coccidioidomycosis [ Coccidioides immitis]

Creutzfeldt-Jakob Disease*

Cryptosporidiosis [ Cryptosporidium parvum)]

Cyclospora infection [Cyclospora cayetanensis]

Diphtheria [ Corynebacterium djphtheriae] *

Ehrlichiosis [Ehrlichia species]

Escherichia coli O157 infection and other shiga toxin producing £. coli

Giardiasis [Giardia lamblial

Gonorrhea [Neisseria gonorrhoeae]

Haemophilus influenzae, invasive disease, sterile site*

Hantavirus Pulmonary Syndrome [Hantavirus]*

Hemolytic Uremic Syndrome (HUS)

Hepatitis, viral: A%, E,

Hepatitis, viral: positive B surface antigen in a pregnant woman

Hepatitis, viral: B, C (new diagnoses from providers only, no lab reporting)

Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV), including perinatal exposure

Human Immunodeficiency Virus-related CD4+ counts and all viral loads

Legionellosis [Legionella pneumophilal

Leprosy, Hansen’s disease [Mycobacterium leprael

Leptospirosis [Leptospira species]

Listeriosis [Listeria monocytogenes]

Lyme disease [Borrelia burgdorferi]

Malaria [Plasmodium species]

Measles [Rubeola]*

Mumps *

Neisseria meningitidis, invasive disease, sterile site*

Pertussis [Bordetella pertussis]*

Plague [ Yersinia pestis]*

Pneumococcal disease, invasive [Streptococcus pneumonia€)

Pneumocystis pneumonia [Pneumocystis jiroveci formerly cariniil

Poliomyelitis [Polio]*

Psittacosis [ Chlamydophilia psittaci] *

Rabies in humans or animals*

Rocky Mountain Spotted Fever [Rickettsia rickettsii]

Rubella, including Congenital Rubella Syndrome*

Salmonellosis [ Sa/monella species] (report S. Typhi* within 24 hours)

Shigellosis [Shigella species]

Syphilis, including Congenital Syphilis Syndrome [ 7reponema pallidum)

Tetanus [ Clostridium tetani]

Toxic-Shock Syndrome (TSS) [streptococcal or staphylococcal]

Trichinosis [ 7richinella spiralis]

Tuberculosis disease [Mycobacterium tuberculosis]*

Tuberculosis infection, latent (lab reporting only, no provider reporting)

Tularemia [Francisella tularensis]*

Typhoid fever [Salmonella Typhil*

Typhus [Rickettsia prowazekiil*

Varicella

Vibriosis [any Vibrio species]*

Vancomycin Resistant Staphylococcus aureus (VRSA) *

Yersiniosis [ Yersinia enterocolitical

Any suspect outbreak, cluster of illness, unusual occurrence of communicable
disease, or other incident that may pose a threat to the public’'s health
must be reported within 24 hours of recognition. *

Any investigation of suspected or actual incident of diversion of injectable
medications in a health care setting must be reported within 72 hours of
initiation of such investigation.*

o0 / W o g
m NH DIVISION OF 3
Public Health Services

\aAuAwAwAss 'MProving health, preventing disease, reducing costs for all
Department of Health and Human Services

N
7

Disease Reporting Guidelines

= Diseases with an asterisk (*) and in red
must be reported within 24 hours of
diagnosis or suspicion of diagnosis.

= All suspect and confirmed cases must be
reported within 72 hours of diagnosis or
suspicion of diagnosis.

= Reports are handled under strict
confidentiality standards.

Disease Reports Must Include

1. Name of the disease
Name of the person reporting

3. Patient information: name, date of birth,
age, sex, race, ethnicity, address, telephone
number, occupation, place of employment,
date of illness onset

4. Diagnostic test information: type of test
performed, specimen type(s), date, results

5. Treatment: date, medication, dosage

How to Report a Disease

New Hampshire Department of Health and
Human Services, Division of Public Health
Services, Bureau of Infectious Disease Control

Business Hours: 603-271-4496
Toll Free (in NH only): 1-800-852-3345 x 4496

After Hours: 603-271-5300
Toll Free (in NH only): 1-800-852-3345 x 5300

Fax: 603-271-0545
**Do not fax HIV/AIDS Reports**

Electronically: Call during Business Hours to
request an account in the NH Electronic Disease
Surveillance System (NHEDSS)

Reporting requirements are in accordance with Administrative Rules He-P 301 adopted Fall 2016 24
www.dhhs.nh.gov/dphs/cdcs
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