Introduction (MAM)

SR 14-28 Dated 08/14

Previous Policy



The New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS), Division of Family Assistance (DFA), administers public assistance programs in accordance with state law, state administrative rules, and federal laws and regulations. This manual contains the official DFA policy governing the administration of the following categories and programs:

. The Medicaid categories that use the Modified Adjusted Gross Income (MAGI) method in the eligibility determination process:

Children's Medicaid (CM): Children under age 19 [this includes Children with Severe Disabilities (CSD)], with net income less than or equal to 196% of the federal poverty level (FPL);

Expanded CM: Children under age 19, with net income higher than 196% FPL, but no higher than 318% of the FPL;

Pregnant Women: Women of any age who are pregnant, with net income less than or equal to 196% FPL;

Parents/Caretaker Relatives: Adults eligible for this category are a parent/caretaker relative of a dependent child, defined as a child under age 18, or under age 19 and a full time student in secondary school (or equivalent vocational or technical training). The child must meet FANF deprivation requirements. Net income must be less than or equal to a set income limit which is based on the FANF payment standard, not the FPL;

Family Planning Expansion Category (FPEC): Limited family planning and family planning-related medical assistance coverage for men and women who have reached reproductive maturity but, if female, are not pregnant, with net income less than or equal to 196% of the FPL;

Former Foster Care Child: Automatic Medicaid for children who were in foster care and enrolled in Medicaid as of the age of 18, as confirmed by the Department of Children, Youth, and Families (DCYF), and who are not eligible for any other category of medical assistance. There are no income or resource tests for this group and these individuals are always a household size of one; and

NH Health Protection Program (NHHPP): Medicaid for non-pregnant adults, age 19 through 64, who are not eligible for or enrolled in any other category of medical assistance, and not entitled to or receiving Medicare Part A or Part B, with net income less than or equal to 133% of the FPL.

. The non-MAGI Medicaid Categories:

Medical assistance for the elderly, blind, and disabled, through the Old Age Assistance (OAA), Aid to the Needy Blind (ANB), and Aid to the Permanently and Totally Disabled (APTD) Programs;

- The Medicare Savings Programs (MSP), which is the Qualified Medicare Beneficiary (QMB), Qualified Disabled and Working Individuals (QDWI), and Specified Low Income Medicare Beneficiary (SLMB and SLMB135) programs;

long-term care (LTC) services through the Nursing Facility (NF), Home and Community-Based Care (HCBC), and HCBC Choices for Independence (CFI) Programs;

Medicaid for Employed Adults with Disabilities (MEAD);

Home Care for Children with Severe Disabilities (HC-CSD);

Breast and Cervical Cancer Program (BCCP); and

Refugee Medical Assistance (RMA).

Additionally, DFA administers other programs providing

. financial assistance for the elderly, blind, disabled, and families with dependent children;

. Food Stamp benefits;

. employment and training support services for families with dependent children, through the New Hampshire Employment Program (NHEP);

. emergency financial assistance and services for families experiencing a crisis; and

. financial reimbursement assistance for families requiring child care due to participation in employment, training, or educational activities.

Policy governing these other programs administered by DFA are contained in the Adult Assistance, Family Assistance, and Food Stamp Manuals. Information on the purpose and instructions for completion of forms referred to in this manual are contained in the DFA Forms Manual, which is only available internally.