skip navigation Smaller text size Reset text size Larger text size
Families & Children Women Teens Adults Seniors People with Disabilities

Press Release

New Hampshire Seniors Honored for Their Volunteer Service
Joseph D. Vaughan Award Presented to Seniors Volunteering to Help Seniors
Public Information Office
(603) 271-9388

Visit us on FacebookFollow us on TwitterFollow us on Twitter
Publish Date:
May 4, 2015

Concord, NH – At a ceremony held in the State House Executive Council Chambers today, Governor Maggie Hassan was joined by New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services Commissioner Nicholas Toumpas, the State Committee on Aging (SCOA) and EngAGING NH in presenting the 2015 Joseph D. Vaughan Awards to seniors in recognition of their outstanding volunteer efforts on behalf of fellow New Hampshire seniors.

"One of my favorite things about New Hampshire is the 'all-hands-on-deck' spirit of our people," Governor Hassan said. "We roll up our sleeves, pitch in and work together to improve our communities. The Vaughan Award winners exemplify that spirit, and on behalf of all Granite Staters, I thank the recipients for their unyielding dedication to helping their neighbors and for service to their community."

The Awards were initiated in 1962 to memorialize the Honorable Joseph D. Vaughan, the state legislator instrumental in creating an agency dedicated to the health and well-being of New Hampshire’s senior citizens. They annually recognize an individual or couple age 60 and older from each County for their extraordinary volunteer service.

"The generosity, hard work and caring spirit of these dedicated volunteers help seniors remain independent through important steps in a life’s journey,” said DHHS Commissioner Toumpas. “Volunteers are truly the backbone of life in our State. Congratulations to these terrific seniors who are most deserving of this prestigious recognition for their unwavering commitment to service.”

This year's recipients are:

Belknap County: Peter Cassell of Laconia
Carroll County: Richard and Alice Vierus of Center Conway
Cheshire County: Dr. Owen Houghton of Jaffrey
Coos County: Jacqueline Gagne of Berlin
Grafton County: Kate Kelly of Bethlehem
Hillsborough County: Ernest Gould, Sr. of Hillsborough
Merrimack County: Grace Anderson of Salisbury
Rockingham County: Charlene Mitchell of Newmarket
Strafford County: Lorraine Meyer of Farmington
Sullivan County: Kathleen Crevier of Marlow

Translate this page


New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services
129 Pleasant Street | Concord, NH | 03301-3852

copyright 2016. State of New Hampshire