skip navigation Smaller text size Reset text size Larger text size
Families & Children Women Teens Adults Seniors People with Disabilities

New Hampshire Hospital Nurse Honored with Annual Excellence Award by National Psychiatric Nursing Organization
Public Information Office
(603) 271-9290

Visit us on FacebookFollow us on TwitterFollow us on Twitter
Divsion for Behavioral Health
Publish Date:
August 3, 2017

Concord, NH – New Hampshire Hospital’s Aimee-Lynn Sheltry, RN-BC, was recently recognized by the American Psychiatric Nursing Association (APNA) for nursing excellence. Ms. Sheltry, a Nurse Specialist in the Children’s Unit at NH Hospital, received the APNA’s Award for Excellence in Practice – RN, and will be honored at the organization’s annual conference.

The APNA, the largest professional membership organization committed to the specialty practice of psychiatric-mental health nursing and wellness promotion, annually honors APNA members who demonstrate excellence in psychiatric-mental health nursing practice, leadership and community efforts. APNA members recognized Ms. Sheltry for embracing “a relationship-based, trauma-informed and recovery-oriented philosophy of care and suggested numerous changes in practice that have made a positive difference in the lives of the children and adolescents.”

“Aimee is a very capable nurse leader and very deserving of this recognition,” said Donald Shumway, Interim CEO of New Hampshire Hospital. "Attending to the mental health needs of children and adolescents requires a strong and trusting relationship between practitioner and patient. Aimee works every day to make sure that the focus of our practice is on the best outcomes for our patients."

Ms. Sheltry will be recognized in person at the APNA Annual Conference in October, on the APNA website and in the organization’s newsletter. Visit the APNA Annual Awards website for more information.

Translate this page


New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services
129 Pleasant Street | Concord, NH | 03301-3852

copyright 2016. State of New Hampshire