
 
HOSPITAL AND RESIDENTIAL APPLICATION PROCESS 

FOR NEW OWNER OF A CURRENTLY LICENSED FACILITY 
 

According to RSA 151:2 (the Residential Care and Health Facilities Law) a facility or agency may not provide any 
residential or health care services until a valid license is obtained. 
 
Plans must be submitted to Health Facilities Administration for approval prior to commencing work on construction or 
structural modifications. 
 
1. Obtain application and local approval form. 
2. Obtain determination as to whether or not a Certificate of Need is required: 
 

Health Services Planning and Review 
6 Hazen Drive 

Concord, New Hampshire 03301 (603) 271-4606 
 

The following facilities do not have to obtain this determination: 
 
Assisted Living     Residential Care Home 
Supported Residential Care    Residential Treatment and Rehabilitation Facility 
Acute Psychiatric Rehab. Neuro -RTRF   Hospice House 
Laboratory Services     Collecting Station 
Home Health Care     Hospice 
Birthing Center      End stage Renal Disease Dialysis Center 
Community Residence     ICF/DD 
Educational Health Center    Outpatient Clinic 
Homemaker      Adult Day Care 
Case Management 
Health Promotion, Disease Prevention and Screening Clinic 
 
UNLESS-you are affiliated with or have an ownership/relationship with any of the 
following: 
 
Ambulatory Surgical Center 
General Hospital 
Nursing Facility 
Hospice -Supported Residential Care Facility 
Special Hospital -Substance Abuse 
Special Hospital -Psychiatric 
Special Hospital -Rehabilitation 
Freestanding Hospital Emergency Facility 
 
3. Complete all sections of the application. 
 
4. Have local health, building, zoning and fire officers sign approval form. (Zoning officer approval is not necessary for 

Community Residences.) Date of signatures no more than 30 days prior to submission of application. 
 
5. Determine application fee. 
 
6. Submit #2,3,4 and 5 to Health Facilities Administration, 129 Pleasant Street, Concord NH 03301. 
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7. Submit qualification, including education, experience and copies of applicable licenses with the application for: 
 

a. Administrator . 
b. Medical Director (if applicable). 
 

8. For new owner of a currently licensed facility, a statement from the holder of the current license acknowledging the 
application must be attached. 

 
9. Additional Requirements: 
 

If applying for a 4 or more bed Community Residence, please submit both an application for licensure and an 
application for certification. 
 
If applying for a Home Health Care Provider, Case Management, Equipment Management Organization, 
Homemaker or Home Health Hospice license, submit: 

 
a. Copy of the authority to do business in New Hampshire from the Secretary of State. 
b. Article of Incorporation or Partnership. 
c. If applying for a Branch office (see He-P 801.08(h)), submit the information required by He- P 801.02(d)(5). 
 

10. Within 60 days of receipt of the application you will be notified if your application is complete. 
 

a. If the application is not complete, you will be informed of what is in error. 
b. The incomplete application will be returned. When you have corrected the errors or omissions, resubmit the 

entire application package. 
 

11. Once Health Facilities Administration has received the complete application package, Health Facilities will 
determine if the facility is in "good standing" and if any of the services to be provided have changed. 

 
12. If the facility is in good standing and there is no change in the service to be provided, you will be contacted to 

establish a date of sale. 
 

a. Once documentation of the sale is received a license and certificate will be issued. b. The license will be for 
the remainder of the licensure year for the previous owner. 

 
13. If the facility is not in good standing, inspections will occur to determine compliance with RSA 151 He-P 801 and 

the appropriate regulations. 
 

a. If you were in full compliance with all inspection requirements, a license will be issued. 
b. If any deficiencies were identified, your licensing request will be denied. 

 
14. Within 120 days of receipt of an acceptable application, a decision regarding issuance or denial of your license will 

be made. 
 
15. If your licensure request is denied, you will have the right to appeal the decision. 
 
16. If you are found to be providing health care services without a license as required by RSA 141:2, a Cease and Desist 

order will be issued. Legal action including assessing fines may be taken. 
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