NH Medicaid (Medical Assistance) Eligibility for Children

It is the goal of the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) to ensure that each child in New Hampshire has access to quality health care. We do this by working in partnership with the medical and dental insurers, hospitals, community health centers, healthcare providers, schools and social service agencies across the state. Another step in achieving this goal is offering Medicaid (Medical Assistance) to eligible individuals.

Eligibility for Modified Adjusted Gross Income (MAGI) medical assistance categories uses the MAGI rules to determine whether your child qualifies for the program. MAGI rules use IRS-defined concepts of income and household. This means that your federal tax filing status and who you claim as tax dependents determines your household size and whose income we count.

MAGI categories of children's medical assistance include:

  • Children's Medicaid (CM): provides health and dental coverage for children under age 19 with net income no higher than 196% of the federal poverty levels (FPL).
  • Expanded Children's Medicaid (Expanded CM): provides health and dental coverage for children under age 19 with net income higher than 196% of the FPL but no higher than 318% of the FPL.

Eligibility for Non-MAGI medical assistance categories is based on household size, income and resources. Income includes any income earned from working or self-employment, and unearned income such as child support (for Home Care for Children with Severe Disabilities (HC-CSD) only), alimony, unemployment, Veteran's benefits (for HC-CSD only), or Worker's Compensation benefits, or any income received on a regular basis. Resources include but are not limited to checking/savings accounts, trusts, stocks, bonds.

Non-MAGI categories of children's medical assistance include:

  • Home Care for Children with Severe Disabilities (HC-CSD): for severely disabled children under age 19 whose medical disability is so severe that they qualify for institutional care but who are being cared for at home. Only the income and resources of the disabled child are counted towards eligibility for this program. Commonly known as the "Katie Beckett" option.

Non-Financial Eligibility includes:

  • Age: Your child must be under the age of 19.
  • Residency: Your child must be a NH resident.
  • Citizenship: Your child must be a US citizen or an eligible qualified non-citizen.
  • Social Security Number (SSN): Your child's SSN must be provided.

Interested in Applying?

To find out if your child is eligible for NH Medicaid, visit NH EASY. NH EASY is an EASY, fast, and secure way to look at and manage your benefits online. You may apply for all types of assistance we offer, including cash, Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) and child care.



  • Contact the DHHS Customer Service Center toll-free at 1-844-ASK-DHHS (1-844-275-3447) (TDD Relay Access: 1-800-735-2964), Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. ET.
  • Contact your local District Office.
  • Review the Program Fact Sheet.
  • Visit Related Resources for additional eligibility information.

Our Mailing Address is:

Division of Medicaid Services
NH Department of Health & Human Services
129 Pleasant Street
Concord, NH 03301

Get Help in Your Language

Right to an Administrative Appeal Hearing

If you disagree with any decision made on your benefits, you may request an Administrative Appeals hearing. Follow the instructions on the Request Form.