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BACKGROUND CHECK REQUIREMENTS 

Fact Sheet for License-Exempt Child Care Home Providers 

The Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) requires you to be fingerprinted when you apply to 

become a license-exempt child care provider.  All members of your household who are 18 years of age 

and older must also be fingerprinted.  New Hampshire Law RSA 170-E:7 requires that DHHS conduct 

background checks on license-exempt child care providers enrolled in the Child Care Scholarship program. 

The background check will consist of: 

 Fingerprint-based criminal record check of the FBI national database (age 18 and older); 

 Check of National and State Sex Offender Public Websites; 

 Criminal History Record check for every state lived in during the past five years, and 

 Check of the Child Abuse and Neglect Registries for every state lived in during the past five years (age 12 

and older). 

What You Need to Know about Fingerprinting  

The Process to Follow: 

1. Call the appointment desk at 603-223-3867 and 

identify yourself as a license-exempt child care pro-

vider.  Ask to schedule an appointment to be fin-

gerprinted and indicate how many members of 

your household will be with you to be fingerprinted; 

2. Bring with you an official Federal or State issued 

photo identification such as a driver’s license or 

passport.  Arrive at the fingerprint station at least 10 

minutes before your scheduled appointment. 

3. If you don’t have a valid driver’s license or passport, 

you can have a State issued photo ID made at your 

local Department of Motor Vehicles for a fee of 

$10.00. They will require an original birth certificate 

and one other form of identification, such as your 

social security card, along with proof-of-residency, 

for each person. 

4. At the appointment, a clerk will give you a completed 

form titled “Applicant/Licensing LiveScan Fingerprint-

ing”  (Do Not Lose This Form)  (Make A Copy For 

Your Records) 

5. Pick up the license-exempt child care provider en-

rollment packet from the family requesting child 

care or from your local District Office (DO); 

6. Complete a NH Health and Human Services 

Criminal History Record Information Authorization 

Form DSSP372 for yourself and each household 

member; 

7. Have your signature on section II of  the NH 

Health and Human Services Criminal History Rec-

ord Information Authorization Form DSSP372 nota-

rized by a notary public; 

8. Mail the following forms to the NH Division of State 

Police, Criminal Records, 33 Hazen Drive, Concord, 

NH 03305 

 Applicant/Licensing LiveScan Fingerprinting form; 

 The notarized NH Health and Human Services 

Criminal History Record Information Authorization 

Form DSSP372; 

 A check or money order for $12.00 for each 

individual being fingerprinted. Make the check 

payable to: State of NH Criminal Records. 

IMPORTANT: Fingerprints only remain in the database 

for 30 days.  Failure to submit these forms to the NH 

Division of State Police, Criminal Records within 30 days 

will require you to be re-fingerprinted. 



What You Can Expect 

A Department of Safety employee will assist you with the 

fingerprinting process. Expect the appointment to require 

15 minutes of your time.  This is an inkless process. 

Your prints will be taken on a digital machine. Your fin-

gerprints will be processed through the New Hampshire 

State Police and the FBI databases. 

The Results of the Background Checks 

The results of the background checks will include any rec-

ords held in the FBI and New Hampshire State Police 

criminal records databases, as well as any records in the 

central registry of child abuse and neglect.  DHHS will 

receive the results and a copy will be placed in your child 

care provider enrollment file. 

If the background check reveals information of concern, 

you will receive a certified letter.  You, or the person in 

your household with the conviction or finding of child 

abuse or neglect, will need to submit a letter of expla-

nation.  You may also be required to submit a corrective 

action plan prior to final approval of your enrollment as a 

license-exempt child care provider.  You will not be paid 

for child care services you provide prior to the date you 

are enrolled as a license-exempt provider. 

If the background check reveals no information of con-

cern, you will be enrolled as soon as your paperwork is 

approved. You will receive a letter in the mail with your 

Resource Identification Number. 

What Else You Should Know 

Every three years you and your household members will 

be required to complete a new background check form.  

Every five years you and your household members  will 

be required to be fingerprinted.  If you are reapplying be-

cause your enrollment closed, you will be subject to a 

background check and fingerprints before your enroll-

ment can be reopened. Only live scan fingerprints are 

accepted.  No ink prints will be accepted. 

Fingerprint Stations 

NH Department of Safety - Concord: 33 Hazen 

Drive (James H. Hayes Building), Concord 

DMV  Dover  Point: 50 Boston Harbor Road, 

Dover 

DMV Manchester Commons: 377 South 

Willow Street, Manchester 

Troop C – Keene area: 15 Ash Brook Court, 

Keene 

Troop D – Bow area: 139 Iron Works Road, Con-

cord 

Troop E – Ossipee  area:  1864  Route  16, Tam-

worth 

Troop F – Littleton area: 549 Route 302, Twin 

Mountain 

 
If you have questions, please call the DHHS/DCYF Child 

Care Enrollment Specialist at 1-800-852-3345 Ext. 4228  

129 Pleasant Street  Concord, NH 03301  800-852-3345  www.dhhs.nh.gov  
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